Reinstall OSX

Discussion in 'macOS' started by tweet, Sep 2, 2006.

  1. tweet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    Daytona Beach Fl
    #1
    Hey y'all-
    I'm trying to reinstall OSX, but it won't let me 'cause it says there is a newer version already there. This is before I get to the "erase and install" option.
    How can I get around this?
    Thanks
     
  2. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
  3. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #3
    restart, hold down ctr / c while computer boots from disk, then erase & install or install in new system folder.
     
  4. tweet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    Daytona Beach Fl
    #4
    OK, here's where I'm at-
    I can't click options because the button is not enabled.
    I see nothing that says customize
    I can't click erase and install because that button is on the next window which I can't get to.
    Disc utility will not let me erase the disc. Buttons are not enabled.
    Installer only shows one option as to where to install, MacintoshHD.
    I can't install on MacintoshHD because "a newer version already exists" there.
    I can't erase MacintoshHD because....return to top and repeat.

    Any ideas?
     
  5. ricksbrain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #6
    Why are you trying to reinstall? This is almost never actually necessary.
     
  7. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #7
    with the disk in, start up, press and hold C (just C, not option-C, not ctrl-C, just plain o' C)

    ... is that what you did?

    if not, try that

    if so, after everything stops (aka, waiting for user input), there's the menu up top, is that where you found disk utilities?
     
  8. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Yeah, you could format the HD (disk utilites -> select HD -> erase) and then install. :)
     
  9. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Just to add to that, you have to run disk utility from the boot CD. (You cannot erase your startup drive while you are using it).

    That's what I just did yesterday and it worked perfectly. :)
     
  10. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #10
    tweet, which version of X are you working with? (10.?)
     

Share This Page