Reinstalling OSX to get more HDD space on my new Macbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Anoi, May 21, 2006.

  1. Anoi macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #1
    My Macbook should arrive in a few days (i hope!), and i've heard a few people mention reinstalling OSX to get a bit more HDD space. I only have the 60gb hdd, so additional space would be great :) Though if it's only 1gb or so, then there would be little point really. So, how much space can i get back? and is it quick to do? (this is my first Mac!).

    Thanks
     
  2. celebrian23 macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
    #2
    I don't know personally, but I've heard a little bit here and there adds up. Like if you're only using english, or you don't use garageband and don't need all the loops.
     
  3. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I cut my install down to under 8.? GB.

    Cut out the languages in OS X. Cut out the sound loops in GarageBand. Cut all the demo software. Cut any apps you don't need. It is easy to save almost 10GB, and I wasn't even being ruthless. I kept iLife and a bunch of useless little apps like comic strip. Bottom line, my OS X install was less than 9 GB, cutting the original size in half, and I could have been saved quite a bit more if I had needed to do so.

    Yes, do a custom reinstall.
     
  4. ManchesterTrix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #4
    By default OS X installs a gig of Language translations and 4-5 gigs of Printer drivers.
     
  5. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  6. bursty macrumors 6502a

    bursty

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    STL
    #6
    So what happens if I dont install all of those printer drivers then end up buying a printer whose driver I deleted?
     
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    You can download the most recent drivers from the printer company's web site.
     
  8. erickg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #8
    Then you can just install them when you get said printer. If I recall correctly, there is an option to install individual packages after installing OS X and otherwise there's always Pacifist.
     
  9. Anoi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #9
    As this is my first Mac, i don't know a great deal about them. How do i actually go about formatting and reinstalling?

    This should give me enough space to put on Windows to (i need it for my .NET development for work).
     
  10. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #10
    Same question... could someone please help us in this cold, dark world? :D
     
  11. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #11
    1. Boot into Mac OS X
    2. Insert Mac OS X Install Disc 1 into your Mac
    3. Double click 'Install Mac OS X and Bundled Software'

    and your off, make sure you hit the 'Custom' button on Mac OS X installer to add/remove unwanted packages.

    edit: Oh, you'll want the 'Erase and Install' option if you don't want to keep any data (if its a new Mac for example)
     
  12. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #12
    don't forget to back up!
    and have fun...OS X likes to install gigs of extra languages and cruft :(
     
  13. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #13
    So "Erase and Install" will totally clear the hard drive?
     
  14. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
  15. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #15
    Yes and no. Will it erase everything in the common usage of "erase"? Yes
    Will it totally erase everything? No. If you want to do that chose to write the drive with 0's or the more intensive 7-pass wipe.

    So unless there is sensitive documents that you want totally deleted, erase and install with the default erase options is fine.
     
  16. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #16
    Its a new macbook so I do not think there are sensitive documents, NSA phone records, on there. The OP just wanted to save a few GBs.
     
  17. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #17
    So when I pull my brand-new Macbook out of the box and do this will it produce a completely empty HD?
     
  18. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #18
    Erase and Install should be fine then. I always write with 0's (one pass) but i am anal.:p
     
  19. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #19
    if someone was really out to get you, one pass wipe isn't good enough :p
     
  20. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #20
    No...it will produce a fresh install of OS X that allows you to customize what gets installed.

    You can get a completely empty hard drive by booting from the DVD and using Disk Utility to wipe the hard drive. Not sure why you'd want to do that though...
     
  21. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #21
    lol, its not that, but rather to catch any artifacts of a bad install at the factory or the like. Nothing scandalous to see here, move along!:cool:
     
  22. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #22
    I meant completely empty before I install only the components of OSX that I want :eek:

    I should have worded that better.
     
  23. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #23
    New thread-related question...

    I don't have any use for Apple Loops now, but I might later. Can I do my fresh install without them and add them when I need them?
     
  24. ncook06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #25
    Thanks! Now I just can't wait to get my Macbook....
     

Share This Page