Relocate osx system cache/VRAM?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by disconap, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    Hey all, I was just wondering if it is possible to have OSX use a non-system disk for VRAM and cache/swapping. I have a cache RAID for PSD/Illustrator that I would like to use for system resources as well...
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    No. It's not possible. System resources (besides RAM) are fixed and are a function of what is installed on the logic board.

    Even if it were possible (which it most definitely is not) the speed would be god-awful. Accessing a HDD for VRAM or system cache would be incredibly slow compared to the stuff on the logic board. Even RAM is insanely quick compared with when you have to swap to the HDD.
     
  3. disconap thread starter macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Sorry, to clarify: for VRAM, I meant virtual, not video. I meant that I would prefer the RAID handle all the RAM swapping and cacheing that is currently being done on the system disk...
     
  4. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #4
    if you're asking whether it's possible to configure OSX to use a specific partition for swap files, then yes, it is possible, though it involves hacking the OS at the UNIX level and is thus not for the faint of heart.

    if you just want to create a scratch disk for Illustrator/PS, that's pretty easy. Just create a separate partition on your HD, and go into Illustrator/PS preferences and select that partition as the primary scratch disk. I've had my system set up this way for years. I believe the rule is to make the partition 1.5 times the size of your installed RAM. If you have 1GB of RAM, make the the partition 1.5GB, etc...
     

    Attached Files:

    • Pic.png
      Pic.png
      File size:
      103.2 KB
      Views:
      88
  5. disconap thread starter macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    I am no stranger to Unix, and yes, that is exactly what I am talking about (the RAID is already set for CS2 scratch, now I want to add the system scratch to it as well). That article is great, I will play with it soon. Thanks. :)
     
  6. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #6
    no problem
    best of luck :)
     

Share This Page