Remote control from iMac on MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by treecat, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. treecat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Location:
    Hungary
    #1
    Has any one tried connect Remote control from iMac (Intel based) to MacPro via third's party IR reciver?
     
  2. Rad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #2
  3. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #3
    oh man that is so cool, I can't wait to get home and try it:D
     
  4. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #4
    I did that hack that Rad posted and had front row working beautifully. As of yesterday front row no longer works, and I have no idea why. Maybe a security update messed it up or something. Got any ideas Rad?
     
  5. Rad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #5
    Updates

    I have the latest Apple updates, including the security and Airport updates. Just checked and everything still works fine. Running a Mac Pro Quad 3.0 with 6 GB Ram, RAID 0 Raptor 150 X 2 boot volume and 3 other internal SATA drives.
     
  6. coolbits macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #6
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    That's sweet. I actually have an old MCE2005 micrsoft reciever from an old media center pc, and so I thought I'd give it a try with the Mira software and to my amazement it works great with it & the apple remote.

    Class.
     
  8. apple_iBoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #8
    weird... I merely made mention in a past posting of doing the preference file changes to enable Front Row on my Mac Pro, said I ran into a problem with my USB and ended up restoring the original files, and my post was deleted by a moderator. :eek: My posting didn't have any external links or anything.

    There was a bit of a rebuff by a fellow forum member, who compared enabling Front Row on a Mac Pro with hacking a trial version of iLife (hmm... not quite, in my book, since I'm not currently given the option to "upgrade" my Mac Pro to use its built-in Front Row files, nor am I given any sort of "trial" usage, but meh...) :rolleyes:

    It all seemed a little police state to me, but I've been afraid to broach the topic since then!
     

Share This Page