Remote Control

Discussion in 'macOS' started by skunk, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #1
    I need to be able to control a headless Mini+HD on my own network, which has no keyboard or mouse attached, from any of my other Macs. What's the deal? Do I have to use VNC? What is VNC? Can I use ARD Client? I'm somewhat floundering here. :eek: :(
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
  3. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #3
    I have the same setup (mini + no mouse or keyboard) and I use Chicken of the VNC. Easy to use and works perfectly.
     
  4. skunk thread starter macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #4
    I've been looking at that guide, but I thought there might be an easier way if everything's on the same LAN. I guess I'll give it a shot, though I haven't really the slightest idea what it's all about yet. :eek:

    Great. Is that all you need, or do you have to set up ARD Client, too?
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Quick version of the guide for in-home (as opposed to from the internet) use:

    1. On the mini, to which you'll need to attach a KB, mouse and display for a few minutes unless you're very adept with shell commands, go into System Preferences...->Sharing->Services and turn on "Apple Remote Desktop", which will ask (er, require) you to set a password. Set it, make sure ARD is on, and then you're basically done from the mini's point of view.
    2. On your other systems, download Chicken of the VNC, start it up, check "Use Bonjour" on the "Chicken of the VNC menu", and you should see the mini.
    3. Click on the mini in the menu, enter the password, and click Connect.
    4. Bob should be, at this point, your uncle.
    VNC server, actually, which is what you do when you enable it on the mini. :)
     
  6. skunk thread starter macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #6
    That's what I needed to know. Thanks. I knew I had uncles by the names of John and Roddy, but Bob was never really spoken of. Bit of a black sheep, I suspect...

    Do I have to check Remote Login on the Mini as well?
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    I forgot to mention two things.

    First, when setting up ARD, be sure to check the following checkbox in the setup panel:

    ARDPermission.png

    Also, I think you need to pick a user - also in that same panel - and give them the all the permissions, but I could be wrong.
     
  8. skunk thread starter macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan

Share This Page