Remote Desktop Connection R0x0rz!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by lewdvig, Sep 25, 2003.

  1. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #1
    Seriously, I was going to buy VPC but then I saw RDC for free from Microsoft. I though I would give it a go and WOW! Was I ever impressed.

    My network admin gave me the settings, and now I just connect to the PC at the office. All my apps and the network drives are available. The responsiveness is incredible! Its only a fraction of a second slower than actually being there. I ran Ofiice, Dreamweaver MX and a few other apps. Awesome.

    I am very happy.
     
  2. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #2
    Yeah, the RDC protocol is very lightweight.

    The only problem with the Mac RDC client is that it only supports one connection at a time. For people like myself, we have to close and reconnect to another server. Ack. :(
     
  3. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #3
    I heard rumors of Apple making its own RDC client, or did I just dream this?
     
  4. lewdvig thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #4
    They have one but it cost$$$

    They should a free basic client for regular mac users. You don't have to be a server admin to get some use from these tools.
     
  5. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #5
    on microsoft's site they list that you need windows xp professional...
    why is this when xp home has rdc too?

    reality

    p.s. does it work both ways i.e. mac to pc or pc to mac?
     
  6. lewdvig thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #6
    The machine being connected to needs to run XP Pro. Its one of the differences between the Home and Pro versions.

    Of course, I have two PCs both with Home - so I can not connect to my home machines. But work only buys the Pro version, so I can connect to my WinXP Pro work machine using RDC on my Mac.

    You can download RDC clients for all MS operating systems free at MS. The Mac version is on Mactopia.

    Maybe the Apple equivalent would allow a PC to access a Mac. I don't know. Doesn't look like it.

    http://www.apple.com/ca/remotedesktop/
     
  7. Mac til death macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Memphis
    #7
  8. JupiterZen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Reality Maingrid 23 Subjunction 42A
    #8
    Just make a copy of the actual application in the finder and launch it ... now you have two ... make as many copies as you need connections

    ;-)
     
  9. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #9
    i'd avoid ms software and use vnc (i seem to recall a nasty crash bug with the RDC on dual processor machines). if you just can't live without RDC, rdesktop can do most of it from X11.app.
     
  10. 5300cs macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #10
    I use Apple's Remote Desktop between my Power Mac & 20th Anniversary Mac .. it makes a good remote control :D but it can be S~L~O~W~ ..even over a 100Mbit network connection.. and I don't know if/how it works over the internet
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    I'd just like to point out that they've fixed that bug in the current version of RDC.
     
  12. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #12
    I think people are getting two products mixed up. There is Apple's Remote Desktop to control a Mac. Then there's Microsoft's Remote Desktop to control Windows XP Pro/2000/2003 products.

    This program is very lightweight, waaaayyyy faster than VNC ever thought it could be, and stable. I use mine all the time. You could use rdesktop or the like, but the RDC is such a small package. The main difference between VNC and RDC is that RDC allows multiple logins with multiple desktops, like a terminal server. VNC only controls the console.

    By the way, (sorry forgot to quote the block) thanks to the suggestion to whomever for just copying the RDC app. How dumb was I not to think of that in the first place?!?
     

Share This Page