Remote desktop speed Mac > WinXp

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jeffgtr, May 14, 2005.

  1. jeffgtr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #1
    I've been considering switching for the last few months, one thing thats stood in my way is that there are times I must use IIS in windows for web design and development. I finally settled on a solution offered by someone else in this forum to put the windows box in the closet and remote desktop to it from the mac. I remote from work all the time and it's a bit sluggish but usable, this evening as a test I remoted from my laptop (another winxp pro machine) into the my main pc on my home network and it worked great, fast enough to do work, I was very suprised. So here' s my question, will the remote desktop be equally as fast (all things considered ie connection speed) remoting in from an iMac g5 2ghz w/ 1.5 gig of ram. My hunch is it will be the same, but thought I'd ask to see if anyone can verify this as I'm about to take the plunge and call apple with my order.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I guess it'll be the same. I remote from my 1.25 GHz Mac to a 1.4? GHz PC and it's nice and fast. Just make sure you turn XP's eye candy off - set it to the classic interface so that it doesn't have to send colourful toolbars etc over the network (because the solid-colour toolbars are a lot faster).
     
  3. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    I was just reading that, it sounds awesome. How do you do it? very interested. Also would it work over a wireless network.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    You just need this. It's quite self-explanatory, and I don't see why it wouldn't work with a wireless network.
     
  5. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    If you use a fast network connection (ethernet or 802.11g), it will work very well. I use this kind of set up on the rare occasion that I need to use a Windows application.
     
  6. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia

Share This Page