Remote disc is slow... use an external HDD...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Mikebuzzsaw, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Remote disc is slow over a network. Just extract whatever DVD/Cd software you have to a usb stick or external HDD. Boot it up on air. Much easier. That's how I'm installing office..
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #2
    are u using wireless N? with an airport extreme?
    if not..then it will be slow
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #3
    I usually reinstall Leopard without the printer drivers, languages, etc, and I'm willing to do it now on the MBA more than ever...

    Is it possible to install it from the DVD image stored in an external HD?

    Btw....does the remote disk already work, or do we have to wait for 10.5.2?
     
  4. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    The discs that ship with the MBA (which has 10.5.1) come with the remote disc software for mac & pc.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #5
    Cool!
    What about installing Leopard from an HD image? I suppose it'd be faster than wifi (even N)...
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    #6
    My fresh install was quick using remote disk, both computers were N using airport Extreme N.

    Don't know about an image, you have to use a utility called "remote install" on the non air computer, and it requires the DVD.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    #7
    I'm doing a remote install via ethernet (plugged in directly between the two computer) and I have to say it is slow. Booting took forever and the actual install looks like it'll take over an hour.

    I had no choice because the Migration assistant screwed up my user account and Apple didn't know how to fix it, instead recommended I re-install. Ohh well, at least I'll get the extra space.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #8
    I'm getting good speeds with remote disc on my airport extreme 802.11n network. It might be your connection.
     

Share This Page