Remotely Controlling Another PC (Using a Mac)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TheMonarch, Feb 6, 2006.

  1. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    I've got it to work the other way around [PC>Mac]... But I want to control my XP [Home] PC using my powerbook...

    I tried chicken of the VLC, but I think its Mac>Mac only. It wouldn't find my PC.

    Anyone got any ideas? :confused: I tried searching, and the help guides, but those were for controlling another Mac.

    Thanks.
     
  2. TheMonarch thread starter macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    I should have said this in my original post, but I did install VNC on my PC AND my Mac, thats how I could control my Mac. But it seems to not want to work the other way.

    And Chicken, the Mac VNC viewer won't see my PC, but my PC's VNC viewer will see my Mac.
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    VNC the protocol (it's guess it's not really a protocol, but I think you know what I mean) is OS independent. If you configure correctly configure VNC on your PC, it should be accessible via Chicken of the VNC. Sorry that my response is not very helpful, but without knowing exactly how you set it up, it's tough to help you.
     
  4. Coolnat2004 macrumors 6502

    Coolnat2004

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #5
    You need to start the server on the PC.

    VNC works on almost every platform. I use it daily to connect to my XP machine in the basement, as well as my iMac in the basement.

    (PowerBook + WiFi = !rocks!)
     
  5. TheMonarch thread starter macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    OK, I finally got it to work. It took a bit of investigation, but it seems Windows Security Center™ may have been the culprit. :eek: :eek:

    VLC server and remote desktops had to be set as exceptions

    Everything is cool now :cool:

    Though I wish Chicken of the VLC was faster, even with refresh settings set to max (The regular VLC viewer on the PC uses all aveliable bandwidth, while chicken tries to keep traffic low)


    Thanks
     
  6. portent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    #7
    If the PC is running XP, then you can use the Microsoft RDC for Mac without any additional software on the PC. Some people find this faster than VNC.
     
  7. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    While we are on the topic of Microsoft's RDC, does anyone know why it will not allow me to connect to any Windows machines in our house other than my gaming rig? I have all the IP addresses correct. The computer names are also correct. And yes, I have the remote desktop control box checked on all machines.
     
  8. FongMan macrumors regular

    FongMan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    #9
    I'm a bit of a noob here but you're saying if i have a wireless network in my home that has my MBP, my dad's XP laptop connected wirelessly and my dell connected straight to my router i can control them all from my mac? By using VNC?
     
  9. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #10
    If they are on the same network...yes. Albeit, VNC won't set any speed records, but for quick tasks it can be very handy.
     
  10. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #11
    Timbuktu is far far faster than VNC, although it isn't free or even particularly cheap. (I keep expecting Netopia to drop price on it with VNC eroding the product's marketshare).
     
  11. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #12
    VNC (not VLC, that's an entirely different application) is very slow for connecting to a PC. I use it only for connecting to my Linux boxes, where I'm running wmaker, which has a much smaller communication overhead.

    Windows RDC is better, since you can set the bandwidth and screen parameters. But the server part is available only with XP Pro (the client is available for Macs on Microsoft's website), and I've had difficulties consistently maintaining a connection to my laptop.

    In the end, I gave up on both VNC and RDC for connecting to my Windows laptop and just keep it open on the desk beside me.
     
  12. Coolnat2004 macrumors 6502

    Coolnat2004

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
  13. discoforce macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #14
    I used RDC to connect my powerbook to a remote XP server for nearly a year, and I was AMAZED how fast it was. Unfortunately I didn't set up the XP server, so I can't provide any advice about that, but I know that it CAN be a speedy experience.
     
  14. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #15
    Cant see the PC

    My mac doesnt see the pc, I selected the things as exeptions (athough vnc wasnt there ?)

    I started the vnc server
     

Share This Page