Remove Adobe Updator from the bar

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Yizi, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    How do I remove the adobe updater from the top bar, check the screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If that's on your Menu Bar, just hold the Command key and drag it off.
     
  3. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    That doesn't work with that particular icon or Evernote's for example. It works with iStat Menus though.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Already tried that, it doesn't work with adobe, thanks anyway.
     
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Just one more reason why Adobe is ridiculous, poorly-designed bloatware! Maybe something in a .plist file you could remove or change?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I'm stilling trying to figure out how to get it off, but if anyone else already done it holla.
     
  7. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Found a way:

    Click on that icon and select OPEN UPDATER and then go to preferences and de-select the circled item, then click DONE.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Beautiful, thanks so much.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    rKunda

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #10
    As a side note that's likely obvious—if you run the updater it goes away too.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #11
    It's not Adobe's fault. Apple doesn't let third-party developers publicly make their applications moveable by drag and drop in the menu bar. In order to do that, apps must use hacks to get it to work. The reason (most likely) is menu items that are draggable are implemented as plugins that get loaded by the SystemUIServer process, so if that plugin crashes it brings down the entire process which controls all the other plugins.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #12
    I removed it from the bar. I suppose that the program is still somewhere in the hard drive. How do I remove it completely? Thanks.
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    By uninstalling Adobe products.


    from Best way to FULLY DELETE a program?
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    #14
    Thanks so much!!!
     
  15. macrumors member

    SeeHole

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    :cool: Thanks
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #16
    The presence of this icon indicates that there are updates available to install for your CS5 or CS5.5 software.
    It really should not be an annoyance, since it is recommended to have updates installed anyway.

    If you click on it and choose Open Updater, the Adobe Application Manager should appear and tell you which updates are available. After you install all of these updates, the icon should disappear until there is a new update available for the Adobe software you have installed.

    However, if you prefer to disable the automatic check for updates, feel free to disable the notification.
    To check for updates manually (highly recommended), do one of the following:

    - Open your Adobe software and choose Help > Updates.

    - Go to http://adobe.com/go/updates to download and install the latest updates for each Adobe application you have installed.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #17
    Alternatively, I shouldn't have to pay hundreds of dollars for the privilege of having to go to Mac Rumors to get an incomplete answer to my question.

    I assume you work for Adobe since you have the company name in your member name. Please have a talk with your Product Management staff about not installing 75MB of unneccesary garbage on my computer without an easy way to uninstall said garbage.

    When you are finished with them, please talk to your Technical Support staff about the correct installation and troubleshooting of AAM - see http://www.elementsvillage.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63559 for an example of what I'm talking about.

    Finally, please talk to your Engineering staff about possibly implementing this as a prefPane. Barring that, maybe they can put a 3rd checkbox in the AAM Preferences so that we can uncheck "show in Menu Bar" - hundreds of far less expensive applications are able to do this without any problem, so I assume Adobe can get around to it at some point.

    To answer the question:

    AAM installs in /Library/Application\ Support/Adobe/OOBE/PDApp/core

    You can delete the entire OOBE (Out Of the Box Experience*) directory once you've installed everything - per the above referenced link you may want to, due to potential conflicts when updating. You will have to go into Activity Monitor and force quit a process with AAM in the name - I can't remember what it's called.

    I was able to launch all of my CS 5.0 applications without issue once this was deleted. I also freed up some drive space, RAM, and processor cycles.

    * OOBE is a Windows-centric acronym for software installed electronically. Interesting, if not suprising, that Adobe chose the same acronym as Microsoft.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    #18
    great stuff ! what i am looking for!!!

    :D
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #19
    spinnerlys, a full year and a half later, and your solution is still gold for those searching for the answer.

    Many thanks!
     
  20. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #20
    I just installed Creative Cloud/CS6 and I want that menu icon gone too! I don’t have the time or the nerves of steel to install updates the moment they come out, and I don’t have the UI space to waste either. (Why not just notify me on launching an outdated app, with a “Don’t show again” checkmark? Pretty standard, I’d have thought.)

    But AAM preferences has no preferences window like the one depicted above. No “Notify me...” option. All it has under Preferences is choice of install location, set to Default. See attached. (Why would an update to something already installed have a choice of install location anyway?)

    I’m not quite ready to start deleting Adobe files wholesale, tempting as it is—I just want to turn off that Notify option.

    Any thought on how I might get to the “real” AAM Preferences window shown above?

    TIA!

    (PS I love how AAM doesn’t list the size of updates. Judging by the snail’s speed of them, I bet they’re not deltas...)
     

    Attached Files:

  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #21
    Same here.

    Found the solution.

    Log OUT of your Adobe account, then open the manager and it looks all different. You will see the uncheck boxes on the right.

    HTH,

    IndyD
     
  22. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #22
    Awesome--thanks!

    (And it's another example of sheer insanity from Adobe. Their installers and updaters are crimes against humanity, and getting worse every year! How come even my piracy-protected software from other companies manages to be relatively painless, Mac-like, and comprehensible? Why can't Adobe, with all their resources and all their years of trying, do better? I remember when I considered them the gold standard for the best software. Once upon a time.)
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #23
    Yes, thanks a million, IndyDurango. I could have easily lost my mind without your solution.

    I couldn't agree more about Adobe's descent into the pits of crapware hell. Seems like every update now requires hours of decoding the anti-logic built into it. They've been progressively worse since Adobe acquired Omniture, the king of unintuitive software design. I guess the inmates are running the asylum now.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #24
    Alternate way of removing stubborn Adobe Account Manager

    I had 7 icons at one time in the menu bar and was unable to easily remove them. Simply selecting on "Open Updater" and locating Preferences option was non-existent :mad: . So what to Do!!!

    I found what was successful for me was to open the Activity Monitor and search for the process under All Process named "AAM Updates Notifier" and Kill it (Force Quit).

    Result: Icons were removed from my menu bar :)
     

    Attached Files:

  25. inkhead, Jun 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #25
    PLEASE help. It didn't work for me. I have CS6 Updater Menuitem and CREATIVE CLOUD menu item. The old menu just opens creative cloud which obviously has no option to turn it off…

    I cannot get to the OLD updater software even when running it from the finder. I went to Creative Cloud Menu, settings, and clicked SIGN OUT… Then I clicked to quit the creative cloud menu… Next I go to Adobe CS 6 Update Menu "Open updater" and CREATIVE cloud menu launches…

    Please I'm losing my mind!

    SOLUTION FOUND (thanks to Adobe employee, sigh)
    Workaround fix

    Choose Help>Updates… from Photoshop. Then choose preferences from the updater.

    It will allow you back into the old updater…



     

Share This Page