Remove from Aperture?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Josias, Nov 18, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #1
    I got my photos currently in both the Aperture Library and iPhoto Library folder. I want them all gone from Aperture 1.5.1, without changing anything in iPhoto. How?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #2
    Is Aperture referencing them or do you physically have two copies of each image, if the latter applies them you can just delete the Aperture library or use the relocate and consolidate command to move them.
     
  3. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    The Aperture 1.5 package came with information on this integration - do you have the manual? ;) :cool:
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #4
    What? Do you mean that 200 page book? Or the DVD?:confused:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #5
    It says in Finder that the Aperture library is 1.2 GB and the iPhoto is 700 MB. The iPhoto folder has always been that size. Would it be easier to just reinstall Aperture?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #6
    The DVD is the same thing as the tutorials on the apple homepage. And you have the book as a pdf, see Aperture Help.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #7
    What do you want to accomplish? The Aperture Library is probably larger because of the preview images.

    BTW you can access the aperture library from within all of the iLife Apps, including iPhoto; so why not trash the iPhoto Library then.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #8
    Can someone tell me what page?:D

    I just want all images away from Aperture, without changing anything in iPhoto.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #9
    Sorry I have the german version installed, just do a search.

    Here do this:

    Delete the aperture library.

    then within aperture go to import iPhoto archive, in the import dialog box select save file in current location

    That will leave the orginal files within iPhoto and you can use them in Aperture
     

    Attached Files:

  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #10
    Allright, so I delete the white box Library file in Finder, and then skip your other steps, since I don't wanna access these photos via Aperture. They are family photos, and my mom says I'm not allowed to change any of them, only remove red eyes, which iPhoto is great for. Aperture is for my own nature/friend pics.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #11
    You do know that Aperture will never let you alter the originial image! So even if you make the most radical changes you can always go back to original.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #12
    I know, same with iPhoto. But the problem is, that 60 GB is very limiting, and since I won't make any use of the 1.25 GB in my Aperture library, I want it gone. So, can I simply delete the Aperture library file in Finder, or will it screw up the program?
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #13
    No, if you dont want the pictures in aperture then deleting the library will not screw up the program. The next time you start Aperture it will just create a new and empty library in the location you told it to (the pictures folder by default).

    But again, you can reference your iPhoto library form within Aperture without taking up more memory (well a little but insignificant amount more).

    BTW why use iPhoto at all when you have aperture?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #14
    Because the photos take up more space in Aperture, and I want the simplicity of iPhoto for family pictures. Aperture only for my own "pro" pics. But thanks.:)
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #15
    The photos take up more space in aperture because you probably have the creat preview command turned on. If you turn it off, tell be about the same.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #16
    Never mind, my problem is solved, everything is as I want it, and I'm ready to shoot some trees with my Canon :D
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #17
    Have fun:D
     

Share This Page