remove/reset open firmware password

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vmpunk, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    Could someone please help me get rid of the boot time password? cmd-opt-p-r doesn't work for me and I can't find any other things to try.

    This is new 2011 macbook pro 15 i7. I have a new blank drive and more RAM in it. I also lost a lion cd to it since i can't boot to anything usable to eject it.

    This is a work laptop so they put some kind of boot time password, if that makes it any clearer.

    Much appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Mac Open Firmware Password Removal - MacForensicsLab
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #3
    Thanks, didn't see this before but essentially all it says is remove the drive or press cmd-opt-p-r. I have a new drive in and more ram and i still cannot select a boot device. all i get is the lock. am i reading this wrong?
    i dont care about the data on the old drive, which is what this software does.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #4
    I think you need to take this to an Apple Store so they can confirm that it isn't stolen.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    The 2010 Macbook Pro and newer cannot have their EFI password reset by the user. You'll have to take it to an Apple Store so that it can be removed.
     
  6. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    No, that's not all it says. Read it again. #3 says to change the amount of RAM installed. That means if you have 4GB, take 2GB out, so the amount of RAM installed is different. Then proceed with the other steps. After you've removed the password, put the RAM back in.

    Thanks for the heads up on this. Perhaps this may help (I haven't tried this, so I can't guarantee it works):

    Setting an EFI Password on Mac Computers (Models Late 2010 or Later)
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7


    The ram change trick no longer works on 2010 or newer Macs. The OP's is a 2011.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #8
    Work laptop you say? Then why are you upgrading it yourself, shouldn't this be the IT dept. work?

    Anyway, there is absolutely no way to remove it, so just bring it back to work and they should fix you up.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #9
    OK concerned citizens, what do they do in the store to reset it? I'll pray later:)
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    An Apple Genius runs an utility that resets it. This utility is only usable once the Genius enters his or her Apple Connect credentials.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #11
    I'm really not sure about that, but I think they need to change the logic board.

    Again, really not sure.

    Also, personally I really don't care if it's stolen or not, it's none of my concern really, but can't you just call your work or bring it there to have this resolved?

    ----------


    I was writing my reply before this post got here... Good to know!
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #12
    OK, this is a step forward.
    With the old drive back in, I have /Library/Application Support/JAMF/bin/. However, the permissions are taken away. Again, work admin bs which I'm trying to get rid. Anyways, it would seem I can slave this drive to another laptop and open up this directory to try something.
    The only thing that makes it doubtful is the this
    /Library/Application Support/JAMF/bin/setregproptool –p <newpassword> -o <oldpassword>
    it requires the old password. Is there a force reset, can anyone check?

    Any other ideas? Thanks

    ----------

    What's an apple genius? White shirt and a screwdriver and a set of instructions. I'm shivering with excitement to meet this extraordinaire.
     
  13. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    "Genius" is the job title Apple gives to its technical support personnel. It is only a job title and is not necessarily a reflection of their knowledge, experience or expertise.
     
  14. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    This is so very, very true and almost sad.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #15
    So not to leave an unresolved thread and I'm already passed this. Here is a few tips on what you can do.

    Since, I could only boot from the original company drive (no usb boot, no cd boot, not even other drive boot) I needed to gain root access. This can be done by slaving the drive to another OS. I used another laptop with koppix boot cd and the mac drive inside.
    You will need to mount the hfsplus mac volume. (Shut down your mac clean otherwise it complains on mount)
    from memory, cmd was something like this
    mount -t hfsplus -o force rw /dev/sda2 /media/sda2
    Then, you'll need to edit or replace
    /var/db/dslocal/nodes/Default/users/root.plist
    to have a working password, google more on this if you're in my exact situation
    Once, you have full control of the OS, the best I can offer is getting setregproptool from /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Installer/Applications/Utilities/Firmware\ Password\ Utility/Contents/Resources
    It won't work for you as described as it requires the original password but that doesn't mean you can't try a million times. It is a command line utility and you can fairly easily script a brute force loop to get at the password.
    I've read some posts that setregproptool is a bit clunky but based on the usage description, it should be able to do this.
    Good luck folks.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #16
    There I have the same problem Is there a solution Please help Change RAM is useless
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #17

    I'll explain what happens...You MUST take it to the Apple Store...just schedule an appointment. When you arrive they will chat with what they call TSPS support (its some engineers in a foreign country) and they will email your genius a key which they flash to the motherboard to remove the EFI password. The EFI password has been strengthened with the 2011 MacBook models and 2010 MacBook Air model.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #18
    same issue

    hi, i have almost the same problem, the only difference is that i managed to access do root user in the OS, and from there i ran teh osx installation so when the macbook pro restarted it restarted directly from the CD without giving me teh lock screen. now from here i can access the ram password but it keep asking me for the old one. is there a way to reset it having the admin rights or from the installation CD without putting the old one?
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #19
    No, you have to take it to an Apple Store - where they can generate the code to reset it. The team needed only work mon-friday though, so you may have a bit of a wait (they can't generate them directly in store).
     

Share This Page