Removing Panther

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by b_nig, Jul 27, 2003.

  1. b_nig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #1
    hello all, i stumbled across my roommates copy of Panther, and now i'd like to remove it. i put my jaguar disc in, only to receive an installer error upon restart. it seems as if i would be able to type text on the screen that the error is on, it's very "command line" looking. i would really like to get this software off of my computer, but have run into this roadblock, do you think you could give me some tips?
     
  2. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #2
    did you install the panther BETA over your jaguar? If you did your SOL.... you have to backup your important stuff and then erase the drive/partition and install jaguar again...sorry if this isn't the answer you wanted but next time I suggest installing beta os's on a seperate drive/partition.
     
  3. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #3
    sounds like he might be getting a kernel panic on jaguar install CD boot?

    if so, pull out 3rd party RAM. try again.

    arn
     
  4. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #4
    arn may be right about that kernel panic, but i do know and would like to reiterate what kwyjibo said, jaguar will not install over panther. you will need to reformat and install. do a search on the forums for what to back up, as it has been discussed many times.
     
  5. DreaminDirector macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #5
    Yeah, I installed Panther on one of my alternate internal HD and let me tell you, things got screwy. I dont know why but I got kernel panics all over the place, on both Jaguar and Panther. Thank God for backups, eh? Ended up reinstalling everything and pulling out 3rd party RAM. Turns out, I had a bad piece of RAM. Strange how these things happen almost at the same time.

    And, that's the last time I play around with a BETA OS. However, I did get to experience Expose, which is totally bad ass!!!!

    I can't wait for the official release.
     

Share This Page