Rendezvous connected scenario?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by eyeluvmyimac, Nov 21, 2002.

  1. eyeluvmyimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    #1
    I would put this in the "questions" section, but nobody ever replies in there, so I'm putting it here because it can fit under this category too.

    Say for example, you're sitting in class using your powerbook with airport card (hey it's a free period or something) and you see someone else that has say an airport equipped ibook. Neither of your comps are connected to the net, but would you still be able to talk to each other (via iChat) just through the rendezvous and airport cards?

    It's probably not possible, but if it is, that would be great, many opportunities could derive out of this possibilty.
     
  2. robbybogers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
  3. DreaminDirector macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #3
    yeah...

    also rendezvous doesn't need a buddy list (from what I have experienced). It just picks up people who are in range and are also using iChat. It's actually a really cool feature if you can get alot of people to be on it.

    I was at the Jaguar release at the Fashion Island store in CA and one of the employees was giving a presentation on the features of the new OS. Well, he had iChat on and other employees in the store kept logging on and seding messages to interrupt him. It was all in good fun but it really showed how simple it was to connect to each other through iChat and rendezvous.
     
  4. Thirteenva macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #4
    Wouldn't the other person have to not only have ichat running but also have rendezvous enabled?
     
  5. matznentosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    #5
    I have set up a small network at work. 2 ibooks and one Powerbook (I get the powerbook) all with airport cards and an airport base station.

    All I have to do is open iChat. If the others have iChat turned on, they automatically show up in a "Rendevous" window. So Rendevous must be enabled at all times? or at least whenever a Rendevous capable program is on.

    Anyway, sure, you and your friend could do this with no trouble, just have both of you turn on iChat at the same time.
     
  6. matznentosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    #6
    As long as you both have airport cards installed and airport turned on.
     
  7. eyeluvmyimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    #7
    Great! Thanks for the help guys, thats really good news!

    Good to know.

    However, from what you all said, I'm not sure on one thing. Do you need an airport base station nearby for this to work?

    Thanks
     
  8. gotohamish macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #8
    You'll be please to hear that, NO you don't need a base station.

    A base station isn't even neccessary for some aiport setups. For example:

    You have a Mac with an Airport card connected to DSL through ethernet. You simply turn on internet sharing in SysPref and then if you have an airport equipped portable, it will work off the stationary mac - even file share and share it's printers etc! I love it!
     
  9. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #9
    software base station is the king of home networking. I have two protables, mine and my girlfriends, running off the G4 (with Cable plugged into the ethernet port) airport card. Since my office is the middle part of my house, It gets reception everywhere, two thousand square feet of goodness for $99, hard to beat that. Even works from my hamock in the back yard.
     
  10. laughingboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #10
    Hmmmm,

    How about this situation?

    G4 Desktop connected by wire to the internet with an airport card.

    PC laptop with 802.11 card (pick a standard brand).

    Would the PC be able to connect via the shared access on the mac?

    Thanks.
     
  11. DreaminDirector macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #11
    sure...

    laughingboy, I think it would work as long as the Desktop was broadcasting (or sharing) the connection and you could configure the PC laptop. I'm not too familiar with the windows platform but I don't see why it wouldn't work.
     
  12. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #12

    You can in XP, I know that for sure.
    It's a bit of trouble if you have to configure it from the XP computer, but it should be easier if you only have to configure everything on the Mac.
     
  13. chabig macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    laughingboy...you can do exactly what you describe.

    Just connect the Mac to the internet. Then in the Sharing pref pane, turn on internet sharing. Voila! The PC can be on the net too.

    Chris
     
  14. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    firewalls are good

    And if you are running a firewall (everyone should be) then you must manually create an iChat Rendevous port allowance. This is port 5298.

    Interestingly, Apple doesnt have a preset for this in OS X 10.2.
     

Share This Page