Renew your Mac Pro for $150

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alphaod, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. alphaod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose (CA)
    #1
    So my optical drive slot was getting stuck, so I took it into the Apple Store to get it fixed. Turns out you need to replace the entire chassis if that thing breaks!

    Well I got my machine back today.

    They replaced the entire chassis, with a new…
    -Chassis
    -Side cover
    -Four new HDD sleds (when I had none installed)
    -3 PCI cover brackets (I guess you'd get 4 if you only have a single slot GPU)
    -Optical drive sled
    -Motherboard brackets
    -Fans

    All for $150 including tax.

    So for $150 (less if you don't have tax in your state), if your mac pro is in poor shape, or lost some sleds, etc., you get new ones.

    I don't think anyone should abuse this, but I thought this would be good to know.
     
  2. fungus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    fungus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    @unclefungus
    #2
    I'm wondering... did you get a new serial number, or did they somehow swap the little label out below the graphics slot?

    Pretty good deal, though. Good to know.
     
  3. alphaod
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose (CA)
    #3
    Same serial number. They removed the label from the old chassis and reapplied it to the new one. So it looks pretty bad there, unfortunately.
     
  4. fungus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    fungus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    @unclefungus
    #4
    Yeah, mine looks like it's not made to be pried up. As you would expect with a serial number. That's an unfortunate side effect, but still a nice deal.
     
  5. teameurox
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #5
    What model is your mac pro and was it under any kind of apple care? I wouldn't mind to get a clean up on mine
     
  6. lucasfer899
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Sorry that this is off topic, but how do you have 16GB ram in a mid 2010 13" MBP? :confused: :(
     
  7. teameurox
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
  8. lucasfer899
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #8
  9. righteye
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Mac Pro not MacBook Pro:)
     
  10. lucasfer899
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Gonna quote my favourite tv show here:

    do i look like some kind of nob? ... DO I? DOO I?

    Look at his sig a bit closer dude, the first mac listed.
     
  11. righteye
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #11
    My mistake,Dud but thought you were referring to the OP. Its very common to see people getting the wrong end of the stick between MP & MBP.
     
  12. lucasfer899
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #12

    Yeah haha, I see people getting MP and MBP mixed up all the time.
    It's okay dude.
    I recently said to a friend, "I'm looking into getting a mac pro, I'm sick of using a high end gaming platform for a workstation (referring to my custom pc)"

    He replied by exclaiming that I already have a Mac Pro. When he meant macbook pro. Ugh.
     

Share This Page