Renew your Mac Pro for $150

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alphaod, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #1
    So my optical drive slot was getting stuck, so I took it into the Apple Store to get it fixed. Turns out you need to replace the entire chassis if that thing breaks!

    Well I got my machine back today.

    They replaced the entire chassis, with a new…
    -Chassis
    -Side cover
    -Four new HDD sleds (when I had none installed)
    -3 PCI cover brackets (I guess you'd get 4 if you only have a single slot GPU)
    -Optical drive sled
    -Motherboard brackets
    -Fans

    All for $150 including tax.

    So for $150 (less if you don't have tax in your state), if your Mac Pro is in poor shape, or lost some sleds, etc., you get new ones.

    I don't think anyone should abuse this, but I thought this would be good to know.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    fungus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    @unclefungus
    #2
    I'm wondering... did you get a new serial number, or did they somehow swap the little label out below the graphics slot?

    Pretty good deal, though. Good to know.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #3
    Same serial number. They removed the label from the old chassis and reapplied it to the new one. So it looks pretty bad there, unfortunately.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    fungus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    @unclefungus
    #4
    Yeah, mine looks like it's not made to be pried up. As you would expect with a serial number. That's an unfortunate side effect, but still a nice deal.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #5
    What model is your mac pro and was it under any kind of apple care? I wouldn't mind to get a clean up on mine
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Sorry that this is off topic, but how do you have 16GB ram in a mid 2010 13" MBP? :confused: :(
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
  8. macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #8
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Mac Pro not MacBook Pro:)
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Gonna quote my favourite tv show here:

    do i look like some kind of nob? ... DO I? DOO I?

    Look at his sig a bit closer dude, the first mac listed.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #11
    My mistake,Dud but thought you were referring to the OP. Its very common to see people getting the wrong end of the stick between MP & MBP.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    lucasfer899

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #12

    Yeah haha, I see people getting MP and MBP mixed up all the time.
    It's okay dude.
    I recently said to a friend, "I'm looking into getting a mac pro, I'm sick of using a high end gaming platform for a workstation (referring to my custom pc)"

    He replied by exclaiming that I already have a Mac Pro. When he meant macbook pro. Ugh.
     

Share This Page