Replace Bondi iMac logic with newer CRT iMac logic board?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by SpaceMagic, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #1
    Is this possible? There is a newer 350mhz logic board for sale on eBay, and it appears the same shape - but are the connectors the same (i imagine the IDE ones are... but the power etc??
     
  2. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #2
    If you are referring to the original Bondi Blue 233mhz iMac (or any tray loading iMac for that matter), the answer is no. The iMacs were completly redesigned on the inside for the slot loading machines, even though they look almost the same on the outside. There would be NO way to take a slot loading motherboard and put it in a tray loading machine.
     
  3. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #3
    Right. The highest you could go would the 333MHz Rev. D (fruit flavored) models.
     
  4. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #4
    yeah yhe motherboards are designed differently///
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    So are the CRTs...

    Different number/combination of boards and their purpose.

    Though there are quite a few places where you can find out how to stuff the newer CRT iMac board in different boxes (or even a PC case.)
     
  6. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #6
    Perhaps a 21" Nokia Monitor? :D
     
  7. SpaceMagic thread starter macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #7
    okie dokie! I won't be buying that off eBay then :p.
     

Share This Page