Replacing the 4S battery

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by trvsglr, Feb 24, 2013.

1. macrumors member

trvsglr

I wanted to replace a battery in an iPhone 4s and I see on ebay and amazon decently priced ones. Does anyone know if these are ok to use? I'm wondering if anyone here has replaced their battery with an ebay one and was satisfied?

2. macrumors newbie

Honesty, I would stay away from places like that. Use someplace like ifixit. I ordered my battery from there. I'm not very technical with taking things apart, but I followed their video and had no problems. The battery works just like my battery did when I got the phone. Don't try to take the cheap way out of getting a battery.

3. macrumors 68020

John T

Sound advice. The old adage, "you only get what you pay for" rings very true.

4. macrumors 6502a

quietstormSD

As the previous poster said, go for the one on iFixit. A lot of the ones on ebay and cheap ones on amazon are knockoffs and not oem.

5. macrumors 6502

I've fixed well over 70 iPhones. eBay ones are fine, there's zero difference between ifixit and ebay ones. Buy from a reputable seller on ebay and you'll be fine. If paying more will make you feel better about it, then by all means do that.

Notice though, that no one here can name one difference between an ebay and amazon one.

Use iFixit to repair it though. A battery should take no longer than two minutes. Make sure you don't use the pull tab to take the battery out though. Use a good metal spudger to lift it out from the edges since that's where the adhesive is. Start from the side with the volume control and carefully lift up.

6. macrumors 6502

Definetly get a spudger!

7. macrumors 68030

Metal? With a battery? You have to be joking right? Seriously - if that's what you do, stop fixing iPhones before you hurt yourself.

You want to use a ***PLASTIC*** spudger to pry the battery up slowly.