requirements for lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Trentolol, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. Trentolol
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Trentolol

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Right here
    #1
    What does everyone think the requirements for OSX Lion going to be like?
     
  2. miles01110
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    A 1 GHz A4 processor with 256 MB RAM.


    errr...what?
     
  3. asdf542
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #3
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    1 GB of RAM (2 GB recommended)
    *insert single digit number here* GB of disk space available

    I'd be very surprised if Apple continues to support 5 year old Core Duo machines.
     
  4. JKK photography
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    JKK photography

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #4
    It's an Intel based Mac, so im willing to bet it will be supported.
     
  5. alust2013
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    I don't see why not. It's the same architecture, plus to put it into perspective, you can still run windows 7 on a P4.
     
  6. asdf542
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #6
    They might have one more OS refresh in them but we'll see.
     
  7. JKK photography
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    JKK photography

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #7
    There's nothing technically stopping them from being upgraded. It's the same architecture. Even if they aren't very powerful, they have a modern architecture that Apple is still currently supporting.

    If Apple moves to ARM, then yeah... but so would every other Intel based Mac.
     
  8. pacmania1982
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #8
  9. aiqw9182
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #9
    There will come a time where these machines will not meet at the very least the RAM requirements. IIRC all Core Duo/Solo machines have a 2 GB limit. Let's also keep in mind the speed of this DDR2 RAM is 667 MHz.

    Or when/if Apple wants to do away with the 32-bit EFI only machines.
     
  10. Androidpwns
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Agreed.
     

Share This Page