Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

excalibur313

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 7, 2003
Cambridge, MA
What do you guys think about the resale value of current aluminum powerbooks? I have one that I plan to sell when the intel ones come out but I'm curious when the best time to sell mine is. It's a 15" rev a powerbook with 1.25 gigs of ram, a 5400rpm hard drive, and has a brand new high density battery. I'm not sure if I could get more value for it before the intel ones come out (because it isn't really that much worse than the ones currently out) or after the intel ones come out (because it might be possible that some apps run faster on a ppc architecture (although I don't know the validity of this claim...can anyone enlighten me?)) I'm a college student who does use it for photoshop, mathematica and a few other apps so I could manage to live with out it for a little bit if needed if it would mean me getting more on the resale value of my laptop. On a slightly different topic how long before tablet macs? There is nothing more I'd like to do than take notes in class writing on the screen. Oh and also I was planning on getting a 12" so if they are really discontinuing the 12" powerbooks do you think that an intel ibook of that size would really suffer that much in terms of performance? (The 15" is too heavy to carry around everywhere and currently for the same price you can get a 12" and a 20" external monitor).

excalibur313

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 7, 2003
Cambridge, MA
Right, I plan on selling it on ebay but I guess the root of my question is whether you think it better to sell now or wait until after the intel books come out?

crazydreaming

macrumors 6502a
excalibur313 said:
(The 15" is too heavy to carry around everywhere and currently for the same price you can get a 12" and a 20" external monitor).