Reset all Settings taking forever

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by BoozeRob, May 23, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    BoozeRob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    Hi,

    I went and reset all settings on my jailbroken 3.1.2 3Gs and the phone has been stuck on the apple logo for a couple hours. Is this normal? How long does it take to reset?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Using the reset buttons usually results in the phone locking up and always requires a restore since you have erased the OS.

    Try to get it into recovery mode so you can restore it. Hopefully you have 3.1.2 SHSH saved or you will have to go to 3.1.3
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    BoozeRob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    I have SHSH saved, so I'm ok there, but how do I get it into recovery mode?
     
  4. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Plug it to iTunes and shift-restore or option-restore to your desired ipsw.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    BoozeRob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Ok I gotr this far, can I restore it using shift restore and a downloaded 3.1.2 ipsw?

    Thanks for your help guys
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Yep. You already edited your hosts files to redirect to cydias server right?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    BoozeRob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Nope not yet, but I will google how to do that right now
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    BoozeRob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    So I got my phone into recovery mode and the screen is black, I added the host from sauriks website and when I go to install iPhone2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore using shift and restore, it tells me that my device is not eligible for the requested build.... am I screwed? I know I added my shsh to the server the first time I logged into cydia....
     
  9. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    How long ago?
    Did you click make my life easier thru cydia before February 2 when 3.1.3 came out?
    Did you edit your hosts file correct?
    Try it again: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7557
    If it still gives you that message and you did the above steps correct then you dont have SHSH's for 3.1.2
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    BoozeRob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    That might be my problem... I'm pretty sure I did the jailbreak and logged my SHSH after 3.1.3 came out. Crap.

    Well at least I can jailbreak 3.1.3, just no hope for unlocking.
     
  11. macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    A reset all settings doesn’t erase the OS.
     
  12. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Are you sure ? With the exception of Reset Network settings, every reset switch on the iPhone renders the OS un-bootable.
     
  13. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    That is correct.
    I think the OP probably meant "Eare All Content and Settings"
    That does render the OS un-bootable and in need of a restore.

    Yep, if you can hold off a month or 2 a new unlock will be released with 4.0
     

Share This Page