Resetting the SMC, is there a way to know if it worked?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BiikeMike, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #1
    I've been having a problem with my battery, and the Genious I talked to said to reset my SMC. He also said that it may ask me to reset my date afterwards. It didnt, and I don't know if I was successful in resetting my SMC. Is there a way to know, or do I just have to wait and see if I have a problem with my battery again?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Sometimes it reconnects to the 'net and updates the dat + time too quickly. Maybe disconnect your network settings (turn off ethernet/AirPort/modem or whatever) and try again. If it still doesn't give you the warning, then maybe you're not doing it properly. :)
     
  3. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #3
    Thats exactly what I did, and I did it twice.

    I didn't do it with the Airport off though. Good thought.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. benneh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #5
    I tried with Airport and Bluetooth off, yet still nothing

    What is meant to happen after successfully resetting the SMC?
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Not much from the user's perspective. I reckon the Energy Saver settings in System Preferences might be back to their default though. :)
     
  7. benneh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #7
    Nope.. still the same settings I made before resetting..

    This is getting annoying. My battery is playing up real bad, and no Apple stores are open until Wednesday... even the 133MAC aren't operating
     
  8. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #8
    Yeah, its a no go here as well. The Guy at the Apple store said that I should get a date reset prompt when I restart but...... nothin! I've tried it quite a few times :(
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Okay, try leaving your battery out for a bit longer. Let the power drain from the system (a minute or so) and then continue on the reset procedure as before. :)
     
  10. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #10

    Tried it, left the battery out for 5 minutes.

    When I shut my computer last night, I had 45 or so minutes on the battery. When I opened it this morning, It was at 0% :(
     
  11. michelsal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #11
    check the thread on macbook batteries going dead

    LOTS of us are having this issue. Call apple
     
  12. AaronHeth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, Georgia
    #12
    I've recently had to reset my SMC a few times. I was on the phone with an AppleCare employee this morning, whom, when I asked if there was any confirmation of an SMC reset out of curiosity (because I had done it yet never gotten one), she confirmed that there was not. She never mentioned anything about the date display, and through the numerous times I've reset it over the passed few days, I've never encountered one, though my airport card is on and connects pretty instantly.
     
  13. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #13
    I'll kill em!

    Will going to the apple store help? or do I have to call them directly?
     
  14. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #14
    This is interesting..... I just did a software update, and look what was thrown in the mix

     
  15. AaronHeth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, Georgia
    #15
    Interesting, just today huh? I just left home today and am now in an area with no wifi or broadband, so the only way I'll be able to check is if I see it on the support site. And after just checking, I don't see anything with recent post dates.

    I'm having weird issues too and I'd love it if a firmware update eliminated my need to go to an Apple store for the third time to see if they have any extra batteries (if that's even the issue).

    Has anyone else gotten this update today? Can anyone find it on the support site?

    Also, just curious, is this a Core 2 Duo and recently purchased?
     
  16. benneh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #16
    Yeah I just submitted mine into an authorised Apple store...

    It seems like they have never encoutered this before, not on a Core2Duo anyway. They also said there hasn't been a firmware update for the Core2Duo, and were trying to nut out whether it was the battery, the motherboard, or the SMC. In the end, the final verdict was the battery, since it died on another MBP.

    Oh well, guess I'll have to wait a while before my replacement battery comes around. My MBP is now a thin version of iMac.
    I'd say take it into apple, unelss you can find another MBP Core2Duo to try it out on.
     
  17. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #17
    Well, according to the "get info" on the update program, it was created Saturday October 21, 2006. Version: MacBook Pro EFI Firmware Update 1.2 Copyright 2006 Apple Computer Inc.

    I haven't done software update in a few weeks, but I know i've done it since October.
     
  18. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005

Share This Page