Resort to previous system?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by notredewey, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. notredewey macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #1
    A few of my iLife apps were'nt working properly. So I decided to do a archive and install. However, after the reinstall the problem still exists. And many of my settings are not the same. Is there a way to get every thing back to the way it was before the A&I? I know you can delete the previous system, but can you delete the current system? I'm afraid I screwed up and im going to have to manually do everything setting wise over again. I did select save settings in the A&I screen however its now its things like Menufela and other settings that are not working. Any suggestions? Plus, I do not want to re-update my computer. I did have the most recent 10.4.8 now my systems in 10.4.6.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Okay, maybe start at the beginning. What was wrong in the iLife apps? You can drag contents of the Previous System Folder into your current System Folder (maybe do this from a separate Admin user account though) if need be, but I'd avoid doing this just yet. :)
     
  3. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. Well, my iLife apps like iMoive, and iWeb are not working properly. iMovie just shuts down. It loads the movie I plan on working on and just dies, no "shutdown unexpectivly" (sp?) or anything. Next my iWeb won't let me do anything. It opens but everything seems to be locked. It wont let me start a new page, edit page or nothing. It only has "Site" in the left column. Other apps like iCal, and iPhoto work fine however. And just recently iTunes won't open either (i started another thread in the apps section about this). It claims I dont have enough memory.
    Anyway, I did the archive and install process and have already deleted previous system, so that pretty much kills my current thread question. I just played around with my system and redid all my settings I was talking about earlier. However after the A&I, my iLife problems mentioned above still exist. Any help with these problems would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, well what sort of machine do you have and how much RAM and free hard drive space does it have? :)
     
  5. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #5
    I have a 2GHz Macbook. I have 19.5 GB left of free hard drive space.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, and how much RAM do you have? It'll tell you this in About This Mac which can be accessed from the Apple Menu. :)
     
  7. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Okay, well what third party apps, hacks and plug ins do you have installed or running? :)
     
  9. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #9
    Should of given disk utility a run before you did the A&I...it never hurts to find out:)

    Now back to what MJ ask...



    Bless
     
  10. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #10
    Many things should be attempted before any reinstall, which can easily cause more harm than good. Though this advice doesn't really help the OP it might help somebody else.

    In this case I would try creating a new "virgin" user account and seeing if the problems persist. This is usually MJ's suggestion. I'm surprised I beat him to it. :)
     
  11. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #11
    I have no third party add-ons, hacks or plug-ins for the apps I listed as not working. As for the reinstall, yea I know i screwed up and should have waited, not only that, it took alot of work to get my system back to what it was before the reinstall. But I just jumped the gun and thought it would fix my iLife apps. I have run disk utility recently and and nothing. Again thanks to everyone for the replies.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12

    I completely agree. ;)



    The system had already been reinstalled so I thought a new user account was unlikely to help, but I could be wrong of course. :p



    How frustrating. Are you saying that immediately after the reinstall, the apps still didn't work? It really sounds like there's an incompatibility somewhere but I can't think what it could be. Even if they seemingly should affect these apps, what third party apps, hacks and plug ins do you have running or installed? :)
     
  13. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #13
    An archive and install preserves the user directories, yes? If the issue was in the user Library somewhere, then an archive and install would have no effect. This is my thinking, given what the OP has already attempted.
     
  14. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #14
    iLife Apps Not Starting Up

    Is there a way for me to check all the plug-ins I have running? I'm not exactly sure what all I have downloaded (as far as the hacks, plug-ins go). Also is there a way to maybe delete those iLife apps all together and try a new install of them? I talked to the computer tech guy at my school and he suggested placing them in the trash (without emptying it), then using the install disk to reinstall those apps. He wasn't sure if it'd work or not but I tried and still no luck. If it helps, I first noticed these problems when I got my computer back from Apple because of the random shut-down problem. Not sure if that will lead to any more suggestions or not. Thanks again.
     
  15. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #15
    Please try the new user suggestion before you attempt anything else.
     
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16

    The user directories are preserved but the settings are only re-imprted if the right box is ticked during the reinstall. By default, a new user account is made. Having said that, try creating a new account in System Preferences all the same notredewey, assuming you opted to keep all your customised settings in the Archive & Install process. :)
     
  17. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #17
    The iLife apps are working in the new user account. Now is this a sign I can get them to work on my original account? I must say however, things are opening alot faster in this new account than they are in my other account. So if I may ask another question within this; do I have too many things installed in that account? Why else would this new one run faster? If there is a way to resolve the iLife crisis on that account, are there also certain things I could delete or options I could change to speed things up? Thanks again, you guys are alot of help, sorry I'm alittle slow at this process, and I ask alot of questions but this is my first Mac so i'm trying to learn as I go.
     
  18. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #18
    *Hands $5 to IJ Reilly*


    Well, since the problems occur in quite a few apps, I reckon it might be easier to just transfer your files and settings across to this new account. It'll probably be quicker than trying to troubleshoot what could possibly be a small handbag of problems. Alternatively, we could leap into the Preferences folder and the Login Items section of System Preferences to do some serious deleting. It's up to you. :)
     
  19. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #19
    That's worth like $1.53 US? ;)
     
  20. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #20
    Gotta take off 10% for freight. That's an Australian 10%, none of that over-inflated US 10% crap.
     
  21. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #21
    Hey 'Mad Jew' if you see this post, I have another question. I have been sticking to my current user account (the one that iMovie etc. dont work on), and I haven't noticed until now that other apps other than them don't work and are behaving in the same way. Your probley gonna say well why don't you use the new user account that I suggested earlier. Well thats what I'm getting to, but will the knowledge of knowing that other apps don't work as well (quicksilver, delicious library, etc) bring any other suggestions on how to fix these problems? If not I plan on moving to another user account, as you have mentioned before. However, how exactly do you move everything from one to the other? Thanks again.
     
  22. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #22
    I've just been rereading your thread and notice that you mention using Disk Utility. Did you use Disk Utility to verify the volume (not verify the permissions)? If you're having widespread problems with apps then the file system might need repairing.

    As for transferring data to a new account, this can be a catch 22. You see, it's tempting to move everything to the new account but then, assuming the new account works normally, you might also transfer the problem/corrupt/incompatible file, rendering the exercise completely pointless. I guess the easiest way to migrate data to a new account is to copy what you want over to the Shared folder in the Users folder on your Hard Drive then logging into the new account and getting your data out of the Shared folder and into the equivalent spots on the new account. At first, stick to just migrating basic data such as your documents, music and movies. We can get to migrating preferences and network settings later.

    Sorry if that's a bit long-winded, but hopefully it helps a tad. Good luck. :)
     
  23. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #23
    Thanks again MJ. Yea I just verified the volume and it said that the volume passed. So for some reason, even this can't find why my system keeps screwing up. But if you don't have any more suggestions I might as well start my hike over to a new user account. Thanks, and let me know if you think of anymore suggestions. Btw, this shutting down of apps happened before, but those apps were all powerpc. I had used an app to strip the languages from the apps and it also stripped all the ppc out of them. A simple archive and install fixed this problem though.
     
  24. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #24
    Yeah, don't strip the architecture (PPC) code from the apps, as tempting as the space savings can be. You should be right to get your basic data across to the new account but feel free to ask if you'd like to know how to get something more specialised imported. As a rule of thumb, it's generally a case of copying to the shared folder a certain file and replacing the equivalent file in the new account with this original and customised file. :)
     
  25. notredewey thread starter macrumors member

    notredewey

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #25
    Hey mj, I finally figured it out. I was trying the other day to figure out why Growl would only work once then shut off, and found the problem. Now everything I mentioned that was shutting down earlier now works. I was using a pref app called Stoplight. It was designed to quit apps when you clicked the red button instead of having to quit them through the dock. It also made your windows go full screen when clicking the green button. But anyways I deleted it and everything now works perfectly. Well thanks again for trying to help and sticking with me through all my stupid questions. I appreciate help and suggestions along the way.
     

Share This Page