Restore From Disk Image Question... Error?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SamIchi, Jul 3, 2006.

  1. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #1
    I made a disk image of my old HD, and saved it onto my external. I replaced the old HD with a bigger one, and then installed OSX on it. When it asked if I wanted to transfer information from another Mac, Volume, or whatever, I chose the image. So now I have a fresh install with the Disk Image fo my old HD.

    I goto Disk utility, and restore.

    Attach Image “SaMiChi's HD.sparseimage”
    Initializing...
    Attaching...
    Finishing...
    Finishing...
    Image “SaMiChi's HD.sparseimage” attached successfully.
    Starting Restore…
    Preparing source…
    Copying…
    An error (1) occurred while copying. (Operation not permitted)


    What does this mean?

    I've never done a restore before, is this the right way to do it?

    I also get this:

    Starting Restore…
    Preparing source…
    An error (-34) occurred while copying. (No space left on device)


    That's if i don't check the "erase destination" box.
     
  2. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #2
    Boot off of the Mac OS X DVD and go to Utilities->Terminal
    type in cd /Volumes/name of external
    cd to the directory where you stored the image
    type in mount ./image_name.dmg
    then type in exit and go to Utilities again and go to Disk Utility. Choose your Macintosh HD and choose it as destination, the source is the disk image. That's how I've had to do it before. Otherwise you may need to repair the image in disk utility
     
  3. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #3
    Could you explain that in a little more detail. I found out how to boot off the DVD by holding "c" during boot up. Once I got into the terminal, I was lost.

    The first line I need to type is:
    cd /Volumes/Seagate 300 GB HD

    "Seagate 300 GB HD" is the name of my external. Do i need to replace the spaces with underscores? Did you mean to put a space after "cd" or is that not part of the line?

    and then type:
    mount ./SaMiChi's_HD.dmg

    "SaMiChi's HD.sparseimage" is the name of the image. Is there supposed to be a space after "mount"?
    What is a sparseimage extension? Is it supposed to be just .dmg?

    I understand the rest of the stuff. I think... Right now I'm currently converting the sparseimage to .dmg. Do i need to do that? I really don't know what I'm doing.
     
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #4
    cd /Volumes/Seagate\ 300\ GB\ HD/
    Type it like that otherwise start typing in Seagate then press tab and see if it fills in the rest.
    If its a sparseimage it'll be:
    mount ./SaMiChi's_HD.sparseimage
    you can type in ls to see what the directory has in it, so you know the actual name of the file. You don't need to convert it to a dmg, but if you want to, go for it.

    Well, good luck.
     
  5. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #5
    Hey thanks for the comments, I got it to work but not through the Terminal route. I did a fresh install and then it worked.
     
  6. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #6
    Glad you got it to work. Probably runs better too =P
     

Share This Page