Restoring from time machine

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gadgetgirl85, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I am thinking about getting a new mac but I am worried I am going to lose all the activations to my programs (e.g., office, photoshop etc). If I backup to time machine does it keep all my programs activated?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    So if I do a backup to time machine before formatting all my programs that are activated should just transfer over?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    If you do a full backup with Time Machine then use that to import your data with Migration Assistant on the new machine, it will copy over all your applications. But many of them will not work until you reenter the registration serial numbers on the new machine. Adobe and MS apps are particularly bad about this.

    I see you mentioned Photoshop specifically. Every time I have ever seen a user move PS over like this they had to reenter the registration. Make sure you "deactivate" apps on the old machine also.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    How would I deacctivate? Just uninstall? If I deacctivate then can I reactive on my new machine?
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    It has been a while... but I think deactivate is under the help menu in PS. You will then need to reenter the serial number on the new machine.
     

Share This Page