Retina MacBook Pro Can Run Three External Displays Simultaneously

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. MacRumors
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Other World Computing posted this picture on their blog showing a MacBook Pro with Retina Display hooked up to a pair of iMacs serving as Thunderbolt displays and a third monitor via HDMI. This setup powers four screens with a total of 15,680,000 pixels.

    The writer of the post, OWC Mike, seemed impressed with the performance of the MacBook Pro:
    Apple officially supports hooking three monitors into the Retina MacBook Pro, noting in the Thunderbolt ports FAQ in its Support Knowledge Base:
    This makes the Retina MacBook Pro the first Mac -- other than a tower-based workstation like the mac pro -- to natively power four displays simultaneously.

    Article Link: Retina MacBook Pro Can Run Three External Displays Simultaneously
     
  2. basesloaded190
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    That's incredible. So much power in such a thin computer.
     
  3. Schmitty11
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
  4. bungiefan89
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #4
    I thought Thunderbolt was supposed to be powerful enough to support up to 10 monitors...
     
  5. d4rkc4sm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    d4rkc4sm

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
  6. Adidas Addict
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
  7. Tal Ormanda
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #7
    That's nice...but you're leaving out how hot it gets after doing so?
     
  8. KnightWRX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #8
    Display output bandwidth was the last great obstacle to pushing pixels. VRAM amounts and GPU power to push out frame buffers have been sufficient for years. Thunderbolt x 2 + HDMI gives plenty of output bandwidth for displays. DP 1.2 would be even better, especially 2 seperate ports.
     
  9. ToomeyND
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #9
    Adding three extra displays, including two ACDs, increased the number of pixels powered by the rMBP by 6%. ;)
     
  10. Xian Zhu Xuande
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Xian Zhu Xuande

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #10
    Thunderbolt can do things that the actual computer may not be able to do. In the case of monitors, while Thunderbolt can support 10 monitors, the hardware capabilities of a given computer may not be able to.
     
  11. 840quadra
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chanhassen, Minnesota
    #11
    Sold.

    I want to push to get a couple of these to kill some dead Dells in our NOC at work :) .
     
  12. AQUADock
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    AQUADock

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #12
    Wow that is an amazing amount of pixels for a computer so thin and light.
     
  13. bigcat318
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #13
    I can do this with my Dell laptop at work as well. Granted when I tested it they monitors were smaller (27, 19, 19). But I streamed 4 different March madness games at once.
     
  14. Peace
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #14
    Monitors have their own power supply.
     
  15. SprodeBoy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    Mankato, Minnesota
    #15
    Hell. Yeah. That's it i'm getting one. My video editing station will bring the boys to the yard.
     
  16. bwillwall
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    bwillwall

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #16
    Thats awesome :D but those are iMac's not thunderbolt displays? How did they do that?
     
  17. kniemann
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #17
    Unfortunately my wallet can't power four displays.
     
  18. ryanflanders256
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    #18
    Could a traditional 15" MacBook pro also do this with daisy-chained thunderbolt monitors?
     
  19. ArtOfWarfare
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #19
    Very interesting... but I prefer to keep all my things together on a single, large screen.

    Is it possible to shut off the main display (even close the lid?) and rely on an external screen, keyboard, and trackpad, instead?

    Thus I'm using all the internal components of the rMBP, but using entirely external I/O?

    (The idea is I'd like to replace my iMac and MBA setup... the rMBP replaces my MBA, and I just buy a new screen to replace the iMac's.)
     
  20. Nostromo, Jun 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012

    Nostromo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Nostromo

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Deep Space
    #20
    This shows the huge potential of the retina MBP. The HDMI input was just a great idea! No more adapters!

    (Too bad you can't just fold up the three displays and put it into your pocket just like the retina MBP ;) )

    And no delay on simultaneous video playback on all monitors - very good!
     
  21. basesloaded190
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #21
    They still have thunderbolt ports.
     
  22. h1r0ll3r
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
  23. jonnysods
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
  24. mgsarch
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #24
    Does "entirely external I/O" imply booting from external source too? I assume you just mean using the MBP in a docked fashion. This was always a fine scenarior with MacBook Pros (maybe all macbooks). Haven't seen anything to suggest it's changed.

    There have even been third party docks in the past.
     
  25. Epic Xbox Revie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Epic Xbox Revie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #25
    The new Airs finally can run Two external displays simultaneously as well!!
     

Share This Page