Retina MacBook Pro External Monitors in HiDPI mode?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Verxion, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. Verxion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #1
    I've got a DELL 3007WFPHC monitor that is 2560x1600 resolution. Interestingly, plugged into the Retina MacBook Pro through a dual link DVI adapter, the maximum resolution available is 1600x1000 (through "Scaled"). Bizarely, if I choose "Best for display", it goes to 1280x800 (1/4 resolution), but DOESN'T use the extra pixels, so it looks horribly blocky.

    Anyone have any links to information about what is really going on here? I cannot access the full native resolution of the external monitor (as I could on my MacBook Air using the SAME dual link DVI connection to this SAME monitor), even if I set the MacBook Pro to Scaled->More Space.

    Not sure what to do on this.

    -Verxion
     
  2. markp99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    Verxion,

    This has me concerned a bit as well. While the rMBP's screen is fantastic, I do most of my work on 2 x 24in Dell external monitors.

    An inability to play nicely with my monitors will be a show-stopper for me.

    I will be watching this thread.

    Good luck!
     
  3. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #3
    Are you using screen mirroring? If you are in clamshell mode (MBP lid closed) or extended desktop mode you should see an actual resolution option for the external display as opposed to the retina "scaling" options.
     
  4. Verxion thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #4
    Mirroring is definitely turned OFF. Further, when in clamshell mode, it definitely does NOT give actual resolution options, the maximum available resolution is STILL 1600x1000 for my 2560x1600 monitor!

     
  5. houkouonchi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #5
    Will it actually do 1600x1200? Sounds to me kind of like maybe its not really a dual link adapter? The dual link adapters run $100.
     
  6. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #6
    Strange. I wonder if it's a bug specific to Dual-Link DVI? The tech spec page specifically says the it supports up to 2560x1600 on external displays.

    Any other connections on the monitor that you could try like Displayport or HDMI?

    Also, in The Verge's video review:

    http://www.theverge.com/2012/6/13/3082649/macbook-pro-review-retina-display-15-inch

    At about 3:40 they show the display preferences with an external monitor plugged in. Under "scaled" the "Larger Text" and "More Space" options are gone and replaced with a plain resolution list.
     
  7. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #7
    What kind of TB > Dual Link DVI adapter are you using? I assume third party?

    The Apple one should work fine, but I've heard bad things about it like flicker, etc.

    ----------

    HDMI only supports upto 1920x1080.

    Also TB becomes a miniDisplayPort when you plug in a monitor via an adapter (ie, mDP > DVI, mDP > HDMI, etc) or Dual Link DVI adapter.
     
  8. Verxion thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #8
    Nope.

    A. This -IS- a dual link adapter, it cost $90. It is the one with both mini display port AND USB for power and it is a HUGE adapter.
    B. This EXACT SAME adapter and monitor were working FINE in 2560x1600 when plugged into a macbook air.



    ----------

    It is an APPLE branded dual link adapter folks! No flicker or anything when used with a macbook air and it supported a FULL 2560x1600 resolution! Don't know how many times I need to say this....



    ----------

    Under scaled, on the external monitor, I too get a plain resolution list. The issue is that the resolution list maxes out at 1600x1000!

     
  9. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #9
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Version_1.4

    Doesn't really matter though since that display doesn't have an HDMI input.

    Verxion: Do you see the list of actual resolutions under display preferences for the external display or do you see the "Larger Text ---- Best for Retina ---- More Space" options?

    Edit: Just saw your edit. I guess about the only thing to do at this point would be to call Apple. My guess is that it's a bug related specifically to dual-link DVI on the new MBP that will probably be fixed with a patch soon (or with Mountain Lion when it comes out next month).
     
  10. Verxion thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #10
    To clarify my wording here - while I do get NUMERICAL resolution options, I do not get the ACTUAL resolution. So instead of being able to select 2560x1600, all I have available are:

    1600x1000
    1344x840
    1280x800
    1024x640

    And if I select "Best for display", it goes to 1280x800 and is MAJORLY pixelated!!!!
     
  11. markp99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #11
    My current Dell Laptop, via HDMI, supports 1920 x 1200 - matching the native resolution of my monitor. Perfect for me.

    My new rMBP is on the truck for delivery right now. We'll see soon enough!!
     
  12. Verxion thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #12
    When I select "Scaled" for the external monitor I get:

    1600x1000
    1344x840
    1280x800
    1024x640

    If I select "Best for display" I get no options at all but it switches me to a VERY VERY pixelated 1280x800 resolution.

     
  13. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #13
    I have the same monitor in 24" version (1920x1200) which uses a single DVI connection. I will be able to report if I can use it at full resolution as soon as I receive my RMBP. This may be a problem with the Dual Link DVI adapter if all single-DVI monitors are fine.

    ----------

    I think you aren't supposed to see those options at all, but just the regular screen with a list of resolutions.
     
  14. Verxion thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #14
    I'll check that when I get home. I've got a 1920x1200 monitor hooked to my 27" iMac with a single link DVI connector. So when I get home from work today, I can test that one to see how it reacts to the Retina MacBook Pro. Thanks for the idea! :)

     
  15. markp99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #16
    Just plugged it in. Plays very nicely with my 24in Dell monitor via HDMI - 1920 x 1200 - natively.

    Yay!
     
  16. ifop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #17
    same issue

    Verxion, I am having the same issue as you. New 15" Retina Macbook Pro, Dell 3007WFP-HC, Official Apple miniDisplayport to Dual-link DVI adapter, clamshell mode... no 2560x1600 option anywhere! what to do....
     
  17. mclemens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #18
    uurrgh - me too

    My spanking new retina MPB - has the same issue with the same Apple adapter with the same monitor (Dell 3007WFPHC). Definitely looks like a bug.
     
  18. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #19
    Wow I cannot help with the issue but thanks for reporting this. The entire reason I wanted the new laptop was I could run two 30"s at the same time. I am going to hold off on purchasing until they fix this. Thanks, and I hope they resolve it quickly for you!
     
  19. mclemens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #20
    I just filed a bug report with apple (thanks for the link darwinian) - we'll see what they say...
     
  20. ifop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #21
    I filed one as well. :)
     
  21. CUsurfer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #22
    "Sell your Dell's and get a TB Display" will be their response!

    Just kidding. I hope you guys get a fix for this. This is unacceptable.
     
  22. Verxion thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #23
    I've arrived home now and have a bit to report. I've got at home a Hanns.G HG281 monitor. It is a large 28" monitor that supports 1920x1200 resolution. Here at home I've got a SINGLE link mini display port to DVI adapter, and sure enough, I get 1920x1200. With the display set to "Best for display", it does 1920x1200, and if I switch that to "Scaled", then I have choices of 1920x1200, 1600x1000, and 1280x800. So this is clearly VERY different from what I am seeing with the dual link adapter.

    Please note that BOTH adapters I'm testing with (both single and dual) are official Apple adapters.
     
  23. ifop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #24
    Yep, seems like it's just an issue with our Dell 3007WFP-HCs. 1920x1200 is within the max res for single link DVI. I bet if you used your dual-link DVI cable with the Hanns.G monitor, it would also work. :)
     
  24. darwinian macrumors 6502a

    darwinian

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    In R4, more or less
    #25
    Great to narrow down the problem like that. And on behalf of a fellow Lion user, thanks for reporting the issue. I do not work for Apple, though it annoys me that I have to pay for DP privileges but then file bug reports for 'free', heh. All in the name of good software.

    Also, while I'm thinking about this, it's funny how fast they've responded to me on some bug reports and how some are still in the queue years later, never seemingly touched but were arguably more important.
     

Share This Page