retrofitting wifi/BT on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jaguarx, Oct 27, 2006.

1. jaguarx macrumors regular

About to order a mac pro 3Ghz/4Gb , I'm a coder so another 4 cores isn't going to do much for me. I was wondering if I don't get the Wifi and bluetooth modules whether I can buy and install them later if needed?

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

What? XCode automatically compiles you source in parallel across all cores (you would need at least 8 source files to use 8 cores though). Why would more cores not be good?

3. jaguarx thread starter macrumors regular

4. Transeau macrumors 6502a

Transeau

Yes, you can buy the WiFi and the BT cards online (I don't think I'm allowed to say where...) But they are fairly easy to install. I picked up the BT for $22 and the WiFi for $37. Took about 20 minutes to install both.

5. BackInTheSaddle macrumors regular

BackInTheSaddle

I went to the Apple Store in Lynnwood, WA and had both Airport and BT installed in my Mac Pro, total cost was $74 including tax and installation. For some reason, the store personnel were insistent on installing the modules for me. I guess they have had problems with self-installations by end-users. The modules get popped onto the motherboard and there are preinstalled wires that need to be connected to those modules.

Interestingly, I bought my Mac Pro from Powermax (see above posting) but they claimed not to have the Airport or Bluetooth modules yet from Apple.

6. Transeau macrumors 6502a

Transeau

They just got the modules in a few days ago. I pre-ordered mine a few weeks ago, and received them on Friday

7. mrwhiskey macrumors newbie

BT & Airport install