Return 15" PowerPC Powerbook for MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by corywoolf, Jan 10, 2006.

1. corywoolf macrumors 65816

corywoolf

A kid in my video class (I am a teacher aid) wants to exchange his 15" 1.67 GHz Powerbook for the new MacBook Pro. He says he got it 12 days ago. I told him I DOUBT he will be able to exchange it, he is all pissed off. I guess when I broke the news to him after reading the MR live stream he was embarrassed after showing it off to a bunch of kids. He through a fit like a six year old. I told him to chill out, as long as it does what you need it to, why care? There will always be something better around the corner, just look at it this way, Todays new Macs are tomorrows obsolete P.O.S.

What do you think?

Rant/

I use to be like this kid a few years ago. I hate how materialistic our society is, although it is a large part of what drives the economy. I know this kid just wants the new mac because he wants to "Show it off" and he thinks people will think he's cool if he owns the latest and greatest things. This is why I hate my high school and only go there for 3 hours a day (I have been dual enrolled at a local college for a couple years now). All the teens are so celebrity obsessed, pop culture followers, materialistic, know it all's, posers, and live a lie. Five years ago I took down my facade (mask) and started being honest and modest (damn rhymes ;) )and I am a happier person who doesn't need the newest gadget to be happy. Although I follow the mac scene closely, I don't NEED everything Apple releases, unlike some folks. If the purchase is justifiable, then I am all for it; If it is just to be "Cool and Hip" have a nice life wasted by the never ending pursuit of coolness.

/end Rant

2. saunders45 macrumors 6502a

saunders45

Kid sounds like a whiner. Did he buy it, or did his mommy and daddy?

3. Counterfit macrumors G3

Counterfit