Returned MacBook Air & Photoshop

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by shah1, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #1
    Not sure if this is the right to be posting this but I recently returned a 2012 13inch macbook air due screen issues. Now I had installed CS5 photoshop on this laptop and on my original 2010 macbook air. The problem is, I returned the macbook without de-activating the photoshop, now I've got my replacement, I'm getting the message that the software has been installed on two machines. My question is, once the returned machine is back at Apple, will they do a full restore, meaning they wipe everything off and will that be enough to de-activate the photoshop on that computer?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    Apple well definitely wipe the drive, but I have no idea if that will fix your PShop license issue.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #3
    If the hard drive is wiped then surely the photoshop will be de-activated on that machine? Or no?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #4
    You should contact Adobe's Customer Support. They're not the best but they should be able to help you get your product activated on your replacement system.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    If Apple just wipes the drive without first going in an de-activating PShop, I don't see how Adobe would know it was de-activated. I think you are going to need to call Adobe.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #6
    on the phone to them now!
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #7
    I believe unless you uninstall Photoshop with the machine connected to the internet Adobe will have no way of knowing that it was deactivated. I would call Adobe and explain the situation, I bet they will just give you a new access code with no trouble.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #8
    Fairly sure there's a way to deactivate an install on the Adobe site. Had to do this a couple of years ago when migrating a coworkers machine.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #9
    if u still have the original machine's S/N, u maybe able to do this wo the physical machine.

    But no, wipe is a dumb process.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #10
    How did it go?
     
  11. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #11
    No. You'll need to contact Adobe (sorry if this was already answered!)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #12
    They sorted it, activated Pshop on the new macbook air for me. Had to wait over 30 minutes to get through to them!
     

Share This Page