Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

haiggy

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
Ontario, Canada
Hey,
I'm relatively new at programming and am able to do something as trivial as returning a sum of two variables etc in C, but I'm trying to discover how I would do this using Objective-C.

I am programming this for the iPhone.

What I want to do is have two labels where once a single button is pressed, the two values from two textfields are transferred to two labels. I can do this with ease. The trouble I'm having comes from having another button calculate the sum of the values in the two labels. How would I go about doing this? I don't have any example code but if you would like I can add some later. I'm just looking for a rough idea of how to grab the strings and calculate the sum. I may be overlooking something but I can't ever get it to work.

Any help would be appreciated :)
Thanks!

lancestraz

macrumors 6502a
Nov 27, 2005
RI
I think you would have to use something like: int number = [textField intValue]; on the text fields and then add em up.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
NSTextField is an NSControl. It responds to intValue, which returns an int. It also responds to setIntValue:, which accepts an int. So you could do:
Code:
[resField setIntValue: [val1Field intValue] + [val2Field intValue]];

-Lee

haiggy

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
Ontario, Canada
NSTextField is an NSControl. It responds to intValue, which returns an int. It also responds to setIntValue:, which accepts an int. So you could do:
Code:
[resField setIntValue: [val1Field intValue] + [val2Field intValue]];

-Lee

Thanks so much, I will try this out. Makes sense now. Thanks for the fast reply guys! :)

haiggy

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
Ontario, Canada