Rev. B 12" PB and a cinema display

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by QCassidy352, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    well, with all this talk of new PMs and displays (tomorrow???), it will soon be time for me to get my new cinema display. :D

    However, I am a little worried. My rev. B 12" powerbook has a relatively weak graphics card with only 32 MB of video memory. Is hooking a 20" LCD up to it going to significantly tax the graphics card? Am I going to notice slowdowns on other tasks that make use of the graphics card?

    I play a good bit of warcraft 3, and I'm afraid that the display will so tax the powerbook that I won't be able to play on the cinema display. Thoughts?
     
  2. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    I would also be a little hesitant about that. Try asking someone at the Apple store. It would be fine for PPT presentations and such, but games are another story.

    Best wishes,
    JOD8FY
     
  3. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    hmm... anyone know for sure? What kind of video card would it take before this weren't an issue?
     
  4. shwetty273 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    #4
    Don't worry

    The Rev. B or DVI 12 inch powebooks will be able to handle the 20 inch LCD or any other Apple display. 32MB of video memory is fine for any 2D application, and as attractive as OSX is, I seriously doubt it will bog down your graphics processor. I have an old school 12inch Powerbook 866Mhz and it works on my 17inch VGA LCD flawlessly. Some of the visual effects may seem slightly less fluid in animation, but that would likely be a product of your CPU's speed.
     
  5. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    whew, that's good to hear. how about in games though?
     
  6. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    my 867MHz 12" PB would intermittently freeze for split seconds while playing McSebi's "Pac the Man." that was on the built-in display, and of course the GPU on that is identical to the one you have.

    my new 1.33GHz 12" PB is perfectly smooth with PTM.
     
  7. tekno_geek911 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    I thought the Go5200 was better than the Geforce 420 in the Rev A? Also, were you using it in clamshell mode?

    I remember every game I played on my old Rev A was choppy and barely playable compared my Rev B.
     
  8. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    you're right, the card on the rev. B 12" is much better than on the rev. A. He said he was playing on the built in display, so not clamshell...
     
  9. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    my bad. I'm mixing up nVidias. if only the version C 12" got leftover radeon 9600 parts from the 15" and 17" PBs that went to 9700s. oh well! at least I upgraded to 9600 pro in my G5.
     
  10. D0ct0rteeth macrumors 65816

    D0ct0rteeth

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    #10
    I have had my 1gz ti hooked up to a 20" and it plays Ghost Recon and Warcraft fine.

    No worries

    - Doc
     
  11. tekno_geek911 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Ah didnt catch that....
     
  12. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    thanks, great to hear. :)
     

Share This Page