RevA 12" Powerbook -> will 1GB ram fit??

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Jo-Kun, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #1
    Hey sorry to start a new thread about this but a search gave me all the relusts about messages wich include "powerbook" and thats a lot :s

    so the question is...

    my brother has a 12" powerbook revA
    it's maxed out by apple standards... 640MB ram

    is it possible, I mean did anyone replaced the ram with a 1GB stick and will this work?

    he's mainly using it for photoshop and making QuickTime VR products... and we all know photoshop likes a lot of ram ;)

    so to speed up things going to 1,128GB ram would make a difference...

    maybe in combination with a 7200rpm harddrive it would be a greater difference but he asked me: can I add more ram than apple says...

    so if anyne knows it for a fact... let me know, so I can tell him & he can decide...

    he's allso thinking about a new 2Ghz iMac... when he gets the money to buy one that is :p

    thanks!
     
  2. debroglie macrumors 6502a

    debroglie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  3. Jo-Kun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #4
    Thanks,

    I'll let him know, so its up to him to decide what to do ;)
     
  4. MacHarne macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia, U.S.A.
    #5
    I'm sure it will fit, but it may not actually run. If the max RAM on that PowerBook is actually 640MB, it is likely to ignore that 1GB stick. EveryMac.com - 12"PB Specs
     
  5. Jo-Kun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #6

    a G5 allso says: 8GB max... but if you're rich enough and want more more more... you can install 2GB chips... so 16GB max... that's why I was thinking this must be possible...
     

Share This Page