Review on my first Mac (macbook)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by timmyp, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. timmyp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #1
    Okay, so I finally did it after over a year of waiting... I've finally become a mac user. hurray~ :)

    I was a little concerned after reading endless posts regarding numerous issues here in this forum but simply couldn't resist the seduction from those gorgeous MBs at the apple store.

    My only disappointment at the time of purchase was not being able to upgrade the memory to 1GB on the spot. The store guy told me NOT TO DO IT THROUGH THEM because it costs $200 while apple's online store only charges $90. Weird... Anyhow, I got the student discount and a free iPod nano so I'm a happy camper. (I'll install 3rd party rams later)

    Like many other MB adopters, I expected "whining issues" and "moo" but so far I can't really tell if there is any on mine. Maybe my ear has been deafed by long term use of PCs, who knows... I'm just happy that My MB is not a calf!:D It is quiet and works smooth/fine without annoyances many others are facing.... except for maybe the heat. Yeah, it does get a little warmer than what I'd like.

    Also, don't know why but the dumb iSight camera didn't work on the initial startup. (It started working fine after the 3rd bootup) Other than that, the super drive tends to cry out "super loud" like a baby when reading/writing... (is it supposed to be loud?) and Garage band didn't load on my first try, poping several "midi conflict" error messages but a simple restart fixed that.

    I'm still on the quest learning osx tiger but would be happy to answer questions if there are any. Oh, I almost forgot... windows xp runs great under parallel. :)
     
  2. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #2
    :rolleyes: Apple charges a TON for their memory upgrades, not to mention the labor charge, and it just gets insanely worse as the amount of memory goes up (ie. for 2gb apple charges $300 more, while if you do it yourself, it's $150 and you have the original RAM as well). If you can you might just be better off doing it yourself :)
     
  3. timmyp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #3
    memory?

    Where do they sell 2gb memories for $150? :eek: Thanx.
     
  4. St. Germain macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #4
    Try newegg.com. You should be able to do something between $150-200 for two 1GB DIMMs.
     
  5. AcousticDoc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    #5
    sigh...why couldn't I get a calf free macbook. Me = extremely jealous.
     
  6. timmyp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #6
    newegg

    I couldn't find 2gb crucial rams for that price. :rolleyes:
    So I suppose you guys are talking about those from g.skill, corsair, or gigaram?
     
  7. Some_Big_Spoon macrumors 6502a

    Some_Big_Spoon

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #7
    Yep, it's a ripoff, BUT if you've ever had a problem with your machine and take it to Apple (I went through 3 iMac G5's in 6 months) the first question they ask you is "What kind of RAM do you have in it?". If it's yours, there's a smirk and a "well it could be that and we don't know" or "we don't support that RAM, so call the supplier" regardless of the problem. If it's Apple's RAM, they get sad face, but must do your bidding.

    The extra $300-$500 etc. sucks at the initial, but if you do it, for the life of the machine, Apple's at your command, at least in my experience.

     
  8. timmyp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #8
    I totally agree with you on this one.

    I just installed the patriot 2gb kit I bought from fry's electronics for $159.99 + tax, and it works great(my MB boots/performs super fast). BUT what a pain it has been trying to install those rams myself. I left a "screw driver" mark on the battery latch :( (crap, i should have used a coin as written on the manual) and one of those "microscopically" tiny screw has been slaughtered :eek:
     
  9. afornander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #9
    i just checked at apple.com, it sayd it costs $100 for a 1gb upgrade. and why would it cost $200 more in the store, am i missing something. i thought it would cost the same amount of $ for ram and harddrive upgrades at the apple store and online.:confused:
     
  10. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #10
    It's most definitely a ripoff because Apple's not really supposed to give a damn who the RAM is from if the problem is unrelated.

    I just bought 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ ram (cause...their higher end ram is great for overclocking, and I like them and i've never had an issue with their memory or their tech support) from newegg, it came out to $180 (including shipping+tax) i think, plus a little rebate. There was a g.skill and a transcend 1gb 200pin pc2-5400 sodimm thing on newegg for $70 and $4 shipping that had a spectacular rating and a bunch of good reviews from happy macbook(pro) users too.

    About the apple store vs. online price difference, if I remember correctly, the price is different for the same upgrade because if you buy it online, they build to order. if you buy it in store, you are buying the base model, the memory for upgrade, and there's an additional labor charge for installing it in store or something along those lines.
     
  11. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #11
    Does the MB take DIMMS?:confused:

    Why not SODIMMS?
     
  12. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #12
    What happens if you put 4GB RAM into the MB? Is it possible? Because 32 bit systems can take a maximum of 4GB. Has anybody tried this?
     
  13. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #13
    the macbooks use sodimms.. it's a smaller 200 pin version of the regular 168/240pin dimms. usually for the most part they're the same speed and such, but the price is usually a bit higher because of the smaller size. they are roughly half the length of a regular DIMM, and hence are used in laptops and small form factor computers because of the amount of space saved from not using the full size modules.

    Also, if you find 2gb 200pin pc2-5300 sodimms, please let me know :p ;)
     
  14. Some_Big_Spoon macrumors 6502a

    Some_Big_Spoon

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #14
    From HD failures and motherboard failures right down to permissions issues, one of the first questions they seem to ask, at least in the stores I've been in, is regarding the RAM.

    I mentioned that I had my iMac G5 replaced 3 times (4 machines total).. I initially had a Rev B which had 2 open RAM slots, so I loaded up 2GB (2 DIMMS). When the 3rd one of those died, I took it in and they replaced it right there with a Rev C., which has only one open RAM slot (with a f**king 512 on the board). I pointed out that I had 2GB in the Rev B and hat the RAM wouldn't work in the new Rev (different RAM, DDR2). Since I bought the RAM from Apple, they were forced to give me a 2GB DIMM ($1200 for that! same as the imac!) right there.

    In that instance, it definitely paid off getting the RAM from Apple. Your milage may vary.

     
  15. Some_Big_Spoon macrumors 6502a

    Some_Big_Spoon

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #15
  16. timmyp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #16
    Not sure if other stores do the job for $100. BUT the stores I went to in AZ specifically told me that it's $90 online for the 1gb upgrade (because it is shipped assembled) vs. $200 instore on the time of purchase or whenever. Check apple.com store's memory section as it says the same thing as above.

    Personally, if I could turn back time, I'd do the memory upgrade instore. The "screw driver" mark on the battery latch broke my heart and one of the three tiny screws on the "L" thingy is severly damaged.
     
  17. flyguy451 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #18
    Relax.....every new car eventually get's a dent and every new computer eventually get's a scratch. Once you accept these things as inevitable you'll find them easier to deal with. It happens in the first week of ownership or it happens a year later - no difference, right?
     
  18. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #19
  19. knackroller macrumors regular

    knackroller

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #20
    If you replace RAM yourself, you should keep the original RAM.

    You can replace the new RAM with your ORIGINAL RAM before bringing it to the store for repair.
     
  20. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #21
    Agreed! I always do this. It is simply worth it to have the factory mem in case something goes wrong. Plus, you can troubleshoot if it is the ram should a problem arise.
     
  21. CaptainCaveMann macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #22
    Its pretty amazing that they can fit a whole cow in that slim case. :D :p
     
  22. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #23
    What is that supposed to mean?
     
  23. FragTek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #24
    No those are only 1gb modules. Janey was inquiring about the infamous 2gb modules which can be had for a pretty penny. Fitting 2gb's of memory on to a single SODIMM PCB takes some quality memory IC's that are in low production.

    Maybe in a year or two they will have the production cost of 2gb SODIMMS down to consumer level pricing.
     
  24. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #25
    My white MB is on it's way (long weekend here atm), I rushed out yesterday to buy 2 x 1GB sticks so I'd have them to install when I get it. Thought I bagged me a bargain with Corsair, but having read lots of posts on different places have learnt the Corsair chips are trouble :( So my hunt begins again.
     

Share This Page