Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

WaywardSon

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2011
I am a college student who unwittingly offered to help out my professor edit his conference and then was wrangled into editing gobs of footage into what turned into around 6 hours of finished product (3 panels each two hours long). :(

Now he has requested five copies of the conference, which turns into 15 DVDs.

---->My question is, do I need to watch every DVD copy before I give it to him to make sure there is no discrepancies or bugs in the final project?

Thanks!

NicoleRichie

macrumors 6502
Jun 30, 2007
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

No. Not unless you really want an A. Just test them in a standalone DVD player and call it good.

cupcakes2000

macrumors 68040
Apr 13, 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

No. Not unless you really want an A. Just test them in a standalone DVD player and call it good.

Ha! What if one is jumpy or buggered in some way though! Wouldn't be very good at all.............

I think I would probably check them....

mBox

macrumors 68020
Jun 26, 2002
aaah the dreaded Quality Assurance task :p
if there was a checksum app for DVD's Id love that. the DVD's I create avg 20min and longest was about 1.5 hours. watching that is bearable.

DeaconGraves

macrumors 65816
Apr 25, 2007
Dallas, TX
To be fair, if your professor was looking for immaculate quality, he would be paying someone to do what you're doing.

I would make sure that each DVD starts at least. And would be certain to keep a backup of the project in case you hear back from the professor that one of them didn't work.

THX1139

macrumors 68000