Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Darkroom

Original poster
Dec 15, 2006
Montréal, Canada
i've looked at so many. i'm new to core graphics so i really can't tell which one is best. for clarity, can you explain in point form what should be done in order to receive an NSLog output of the RGBA values from a UIImage?

PhoneyDeveloper

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2008
In all cases what you want to do is get a pointer to the bitmap data and then read your pixel out of the bitmap data. The only question is how to get the pointer to the bitmap data.

The CopyImagePixels function in the apple reference gets the pointer to the bitmap data. I don't think you need to draw the image into a bitmap context in most cases. Then you can use the code from that blog to read out the four pixels.

Alternatively you could use the code from that blog entry but I would restructure it so that it only creates the bitmap context one time and only draws into it one time and then you can read out the pixels as many times as you like.

Darkroom

Original poster
Dec 15, 2006
Montréal, Canada
i'm planning on converting the UIImage to a CGImage, cycling thru the pixels of the CGImage once and adding them to an array that i can select from based on touch coordinates. but is an array even necessary?

it sounds like you're saying it isn't necessary to produce an array, and that all that is required is CopyImagePixels, but i don't understand how CopyImagePixels should be employed.

Code:
CFDataRef CopyImagePixels(CGImageRef inImage)
{
    return CGDataProviderCopyData(CGImageGetDataProvider(inImage));
}

PhoneyDeveloper

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2008
The image data are in a kind of array and I don't see any point in copying each pixel or each channel into a second array. The RGBA info for each pixel is stored in order in the image data. Each pixel is stored in a row. There are as many rows as the height of the image.