RipIt and Converting to MP4

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by BPD-FLA, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville
    #1
    I am using RipIt to rip some of my DVD's and the file created is .dvdmedia

    I am using VisualHub to convert the files to a MP4 format for use in iTunes and Apple TV. The Problem I am having is that sometimes the converter, VisualHub, is saying I cannot convert because it is recognizing it as a folder instead of a file.

    Should I be using a different ripping program or different converter?

    Any thoughts and help would be great!

    Thanks
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    There is also MacTheRipper and Fairmount to rip the DVDs and Handbrake to convert it to an .mp4 or .mkv file.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
  4. macrumors 65816

    flottenheimer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Up north
    #4
    Use Handbrake and choose the "Apple Universal" preset.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #5
    Conversion

    RipIt now has built-in handbrake conversion. I recommend trying that. I only use visualhub to convert to DVD and also odd formats every now and then.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #6
    Apple TV / ATVFlash and Cyberduck

    I just purchased an Apple TV this week. I installed ATVFlash. I use Ripit to rip my DVDs. I then use CyberDuck to FTP the complete file to my Apple TV. It works like a charm. ATVFlash loads a program called NitoTV. NitoTV has a complete DVD player built in. The DVDs playback just as they would if I had loaded them into a set top player, menu and all. Another bonus of installing ATVFlash is that I can now use the USB port on the back of the Apple TV for an external drive loaded with ripped DVDs. You may want to give ATVFlash a try.

    By the way. If you use CyberDuck use the Bonjour button to find your Apple TV, and the password and user name are the same: frontrow. It took me a few tries to figure those two things out. I just want to save you some time.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page