Ripping a copy-protected DVD

Discussion in 'iPod' started by JRod993, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    I am about to rip a DVD for the first time using Handbrake! I want to rip Mission Impossible 3, but on the back it says copy- protected. Will copy-protected DVDs be able to rip?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Y....eah. It's HandBrake. :p What other kind of DVDs would you need to rip?

    You need VLC to take care of the ripping, anymore, though.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    haha true that!

    op, if you want a full complete backup (aka not an encoding), you can use mac the ripper and subsequently burn to a dvd(compressed on single layer, or not compressed on dvd dl) with toast or burn
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #4
    And all of this is can be done on Windows too, right?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    Thanks
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Actually, no. The Windows version of HandBrake didn't rip DVDs even when the Mac version did.

    And the Mac version still does, you just need VLC for the codecs. You'll never know the difference.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #7
    How long usually does a regular DVD take to rip?
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    The rip takes virtually no time at all. The encoding is what takes time.

    With a 3.2GHz Gainestown Mac Pro running Snow Leopard, the encode takes about 10 minutes.

    With a 2.4GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM, it takes a little over 2.5 hours.

    With a 1.8GHz G5 iMac, it takes a little over 4.5 hours.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #9
    Thanks
     
  10. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    keep in mind that while handbrake is very cpu reliant, the length of the encoding also is affected by what settings you are using as well
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, UK
    #11
    Since when did Mac Pro's have Gainestown chips in?
     
  12. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    That encode speed is an extrapolation based on the computer that I will be getting. In June. :D

    I'm glad that someone caught that. I would have been disappointed if someone hadn't. ;)
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #13
    I don't know
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #14
    So for Windows I need to download VLC along with Handbrake too?
     
  15. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #15
    i would think so with the latest handbrake
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    That's correct.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #17
    I'm in the process of ripping DVD's for the first time, too (getting ready for a 9-hour plane ride, ugh).

    I'm using two computers: a year-old MacBook Pro (2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM), and a year old iMac (2Ghz Core 2 Duo, 1GB RAM). The MBP has an Elgato 264 Turbo dongle, but I'm honestly not sure if it's being used or not.

    I'm using the built-in "iPod" preset. Only change was to adjust the DRC to 2.0.

    On the MBP, ripping & encoding is taking about 45% of the time of the DVD it's processing (ie, a 1hr 39m film processed in 44m). On the iMac it's averaging around 60%.

    I have to say... I always thought ripping DVD's was a really complicated process (so much so that I've used bittorrent to get copies of movies I own on DVD)... but I feel like such a fool now! :) I'm actually looking forward to the flight now, just to get caught up on all the DVD's I got for Christmas!
     
  18. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #18
    As others said, the encode time is the issue. A lot depends on the setting -- mine is at a pretty good near-DVD quality setting. WIth my 2.16Ghz MBP and 2GB of RAM (which is never the bottleneck), it takes just a slight bit longer than the actual video. On my Mac Mini G4, it was about 1.5x the video. WIth the newer processors, you may be getting under the length of the video by a good bit.

    A good tip is if you need speed, close EVERYTHING else. I was doing one last night and it was about half the optimum speed because I was playing video in iTunes.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #19

    Is anyone having trouble ripping the dark knight? Even though I have a digital copy which they want me to pay for!, can anyone help?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #20
    Clarification

    Could someone explain the need and role of VLC when using Handbrake?
    Are you saying you need to use both programs when ripping a copy protected DVD? I thought VLC was simply a media "player." Thanks for any assistance in better understanding this process.
     
  21. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #21
    Very interesting revelation, considering neither Snow Leopard nor Gainestown has been released yet!
     
  22. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #22
    For Windows, I use DVD Shrink, and make it as a ISO, and then use Clone CD to burn it to a blank DVD.
     
  23. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #23
    Another interesting revelation, since I just ripped M:i:III on a 2.5GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM.... in exactly 35 minutes.
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #24
    I bet you used ffmpeg, and not x264 for the encoder.
     
  25. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #25
    I've been using CloneDVD to exact copy all my DVDs to my computers. I then use Video Lan to play them. Works very well and can even copy only the movie portion to your computer without the extras.
     

Share This Page