Ripping DVDs - there must be a better way

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mentaluproar, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #1
    My mother has switched over to her Apple TV and abandoned the DVD player completely. Every now and then, I need to transcode a disc for her. Usually, I create an image with an old iMac G4 I have, and have my i5 Mac mini transcode it in handbrake, then tag everything in MetaZ.

    Well, I stumble across troublesome discs from time to time, like a stop motion animated Christmas DVD (the one with mr heatmiser), where this method doesn't work. I just connected my playstation 2 to my EyeTV and recorded it. It came out okay, but it was slow and I lost chapter markers. Audio didn't matter on a film that old. My mother wants me to transcode "Santa Paws" and I tried the latest version if Mac the Ripper the PPC supported.

    Bad sector warnings, even when using arccos mode. And I didn't get anything handbrake could understand from it, so there go chapters.

    Any help on ripping these troublesome CDs with my setup?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    durruti

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    Jersey
    #2
    Have you checked the CD/DVD for damage?

    Try wiping from center to edge of disc (if I remember, if this is the correct method) with very soft cotton material ?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #3
    I did that. It's fine. I really don't want to have to put it in the DVD player and watch all the way through To see if there is an actual defect.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Try RipIt on your Mac Mini to rip the disc.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #5
    The mini lacks an optical drive. Challenge accepted?

    ----------

    Curious, does ripit create an iso?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    Arrghh.. forgot the new mini's don't have optical drives :(
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #7
    I tried ripping that disk on an old Lennox laptop running a Windows app inside of wine. I got an ISO, but when I went to copy the damn thing, it would get to the end of file, then say that there wasn't enough space. This is while copying it to a 500 Gig drive. Is irritating as this is, I can't help but be impressed at copy protection. It's damn effective, and very clever.

    ----------

    Linux, damnit. And why can't I edit that post? Tapatalk, you are beginning to piss me off.
     
  8. Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    Was your 500GB drive formatted as FAT32? There's a 4GB file size limit with that file system that you may have been hitting.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #9
    Changed format. Same problem.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #10
    If you have a windows computer, Magic DVD Ripper does the job quick and easy. Haven't had a problem with ripping any DVD yet.

    Hope I help!
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #11
    For those who have ripped DVDs successfully, did any of these include ripping a DVD from one region for use in another?

    I finally bought a DVD of a movie I've been searching for years for, but I had to get a region 2 version (I'm region 1 obviously). I'm looking to rip it to my MacBook's library to preserve it but I'm not sure of the best way of doing it (especially since I want to keep the subtitles too.) I'm trying to find out if I can then burn it back onto blank DVD that's either region free or 1.

    I've never switched regions on my MBP (2010), so I have 5 chances to switch them back and forth if necessary for this DVD if that makes it easier to make a copy.
     
  12. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #12
    I use an external DVD drive to rip the discs via RipIt. The DVD drive is region-free and doesn't have riplock firmware so it will rip a full disc in 10 to 15 minutes.

    I then throw the rips in Handbrake's queue and let it go while I'm at work or at night.

    Works fine.
     

Share This Page