Ripping kids DVD questions

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by crabapplemcn, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #1
    Hey I want to rip some kids DVD's to put on my ipod and then connect via HDMI to my car overhead DVD player. A couple quick questions.

    - I have Handbrake/VLC. What settings do i have to check to make sure quality/ size isn't that goog/big. I dont need best quality or large files and want to make sure i encode them correctly.

    - Is there a way to rip the DVD and eliminate all the ads/previews at the beginning of the disc? I want just the movie to start right up. Thanks
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Use the NORMAL or APPLE TV presets for good quality files, the size should be between 500 to 1500 MB depending on the length of the movie.
    When in HandBrake, you can select which TITLE to transcode/convert, just select the longest one, as that will be the movie without all the trailers and extras.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #3
    I think the "iPhone/iPod touch" preset does a nice enough job for smaller screens such as your car's overhead screen, and generates a file that's only 400 to 700 megabytes depending on movie length. Built-in auto entertainment screens that are 12" and smaller have low enough native resolution that any artifacts won't be readily noticed. Now, if you try to play the file on a 60" plasma, the pixelation will be definitely noticeable, especially on the text in the end credits.

    I've HandBraked my daughter's entire DVD library for road trips using the iPhone/touch preset, but it also serves the same files to my 46" LCD TV in the family room via an :apple:tv 2. She doesn't seem to mind the slight degradation in quality, I only have to maintain one file per movie in the iTunes library, and no more scratched, chipped, broken, or lost discs! (There are a small handful of movies I've HandBraked in higher resolution, including WALL-E; in those cases I do maintain two files.)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for all the help. I don't exactly see any choices for "normal, apple tv, iphone/itouch" presets. Where should i be looking for that in handbrake? thanks again
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    [​IMG]
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #6
    Awesome, thanks for quick reply!
     

Share This Page