Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

_astrotim

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2016
Hello,

I'm interested in setting up a new rMBP 15" w/ AMD Radeon R9 M370X to dual display two Dell P2415Q 4K monitors. I'm curious to know if this is compatible? If so, what accessories will I need to make it happen? Also, would a docking station (plug and go) work with this combo? If so, what would you recommend?

I'm an engineer and astrophotographer so I tend to travel quite often. That being said, I'd like to be able to quickly attach/detach my rMBP as quickly as possible. Also, I'm not a fan of a cluttered workspace so I'd like to maximize real estate and minimize the observable horde of wires. I apologize for the plethora of questions and I hope to hear from some of you soon.

Best,
Tim

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Those screens should be fine MacBooks work well with dell screens in general.

A dock will be an issue for you because until we get thunderbolt 3 and thunderbolt 3 docks then you can only run one 4K display with a dock due to bandwidth.

Last edited:

_astrotim

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2016
Those screens should be fine MacBooks work well with dell screens in general.

A dock will be an issue for you because until we get thunderbolt 3 and thunderbolt 3 docks then you can only run one 4K display with a rock due to bandwidth.

Thanks for the heads up! I guess I'm just going to keep my fingers crossed and hope that Apple will announce the release date of their new TB 3 products within the next few months.

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Thanks for the heads up! I guess I'm just going to keep my fingers crossed and hope that Apple will announce the release date of their new TB 3 products within the next few months.