Roger Federer: Best Tennis Player Ever?

Discussion in 'Community' started by Cooknn, Sep 11, 2005.

1. Cooknn macrumors 68020

Cooknn

I've been playing & watching tennis since I was 8. That's over 35 years :eek: I started playing when Ken Rosewall and Rod Laver were dominating men's tennis back in the late 60's. Then came Jimmy Connors and later John McEnroe. Others along the way included Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras.

I've been watching Roger Federer lately and I have to say, I've never seen anyone that plays the game as perfectly as he does. Execution seems effortless and text book. He doesn't lose his cool and pulls the rabbit out of his hat when necessary. Today's match against Andre Agassi in the US Open Finals was a perfect example. After losing the 2nd set and driven to the tie breaker he stepped it up and blew Andre away by realing off seven straight points to take the third.

I've seen interviews with Andre Agassi, and I'm of the opinion that he is one of the most intelligent sports figures today. Very smart guy. Here's what he says about Roger. "He’s the best I’ve ever played against. Pete was great. No question. But there was a place to get to with Pete. You knew what you had to do. If you do it, it could be on your terms. There’s no such place like that with Roger. He plays the game in a very special way that I haven’t seen before."

Is Roger Federer the best tennis player ever? IMHO, the answer is yes.

2. one3 macrumors regular

I must agree. I watched Pete Sampras throughout his career and he was amazing. But you had a sense that he could be beaten by other players. With Federer you just don't have that sense. He just has more game.

Yes, he does lose once in a while, but you just get that feeling that he can beat anyone on any given day. And I think both his forehand, and especially his backhand are better than Sampras.

Federer is just a please to watch, and a frustration to try and imitate on the court.