Roland PC300 question?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by phpreak, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    #1
    hi!

    i just received my copy of iLife i was longing for since i heard of its coming into life....

    first program i tried was of course garage band. i once bought a Roland PC-300 USB-Keyboard to use it with emagic. this was pre-os-x time

    now i expected garageband to just work, so i connected the keyboard to the mac and started garageband made a new song and hit on my keyboard, but i heard nothing. so i tried it with the mouse and the key-board-window and it worked.

    it seems as if my usb-keyboard does not work with garageband?! the apple-system profiler shows on the first USB-Bus "Vendor-Specific"

    do i do something wrong, or have i missed something?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    #2
  3. Toe
    macrumors 65816

    Toe

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,095
    #3
    Re: solution

    Yeah, it took me a while to find that too. But if you look at the keyboard, it's a "RolandED PC-300" (or perhaps a Roland ED PC-300.) Took some creative web searching to learn that the ED stands for Edirol.

    Anyway, it works great, doesn't it? I just got me a PC-300 off eBay, and I'm jamming in GarageBand now, instead of waiting 6 weeks for the Apple Sotre to get stock of the M-Audio keyboards...
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    #4
    Roland PC 300 volume is too low in Garageband

    I have OS X Jaguar and an old PC-300 keyboard.
    I installed the latest drivers, but the volume is so low when I record
    my track that it does NOT match the volume of already made tracks.

    Any suggestions??

    I turned up the audio in line volume control in SOUND
    and in the GarageBand program, the volume is set all the way up.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    #5
    Maybe you have to change some preferences in the midi-settings?
    it is a long time ago i last used it... but i remember that my pc300 was quiet too. Other tracks were much louder. But i didn't try to find a solution

    :/ sorry
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    #6
    i have just reformatted my mac g4 (running os 10.4.6) and have lost the drivers that allowed my roland ed pc300 to work with logic... i can't find an update online to replace it with... can anyone help ???
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    #7
    the link posted above seems to have been turned into a driver for another piece of edirol haardware...
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    #8
    PC300 not working with Logic Pro

    Hi. I have a Roland PC300 Midi keyboard controller which I want to use in Logic Pro on my mac which runs OS X Lion 10.7.5 (bought last year). I downloaded the Roland drivers for this only to find out they don’t work as the OS Lion runs on 64 bit and the PC300 driver has to run on 32bit.

    So I purchased a 'Phonic Midi Hub' midi interface and hooked that up via midi cable to the PC300 and by USB to the mac. I added the Mini hub as a midi interface in the ‘Audio/Midi setup’ under applications/utilities on the mac & on the ‘test setup’ for midi in (up arrow) when I played a note on the PC300 it did interrupt the test ‘beep’ signal so assumed this is working OK?!

    Now when I try to record midi in logic on a ‘software instrument’ track it shows midi in info being received (on the transport controller section) and records vertical lines in the timeline (not horizontal lines!) but doesn't actually record the midi notes at all! (See pic attached). Consequently when I play back no sound is heard and no midi notes show when I double click the recording I made.

    I don't know what this means or what else to do! Can anyone help please? Thanks, Mark
     

    Attached Files:

  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    #9
    PC-300 drivers

    At this moment Roland from Japan was unable to provide drivers for Mountain Lion, so here in America you will see in the Garage Sale of this spring, thousands of cheap Roland Edirol PC-300. For the time being they're offering a complicated cableware that has to be on a rare installment.
    Here is the response:

    Roland Product Support (Roland Corporation U.S.)
    Mar 26 11:00 am (PDT)

    Hi Eli,

    At this point we don't expect any more developement on the PC-300. You can use a USB to MIDI interface like our UM-ONE MK2 if you need to connect to a later model computer:

    http://www.rolandus.com/products/details/1249

    Best Regards,

    Product Support
    Roland Corp. U.S.

    Mar 25 07:17 pm (PDT)

    Please! I'm stuck on my iMac and can't play on my KB.
    Hi guys! tell to our friends in Japan to do something for thousands of users upgrading the drivers!
    Please!
    Thanks for your attention!
    Eli
    [/I]


    This is the story of a deception
     
  10. Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12,204
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #10
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    #11
    Roland PC 300

    Hi!
    Thanks for the tip but it's quite for me so difficult to attempt that solution not in the range of those programming skills. Anyway, appreciate it.
     
  12. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,012
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #12
    I could certainly build that driver but that is NOT the way to go. The problem with is stupid non-standard USB keyboard inerfaces is that EVERY time Apple updates the OS the diver break. It's royal pain in the rear. so ignore the USB and connect via the round MIDI jacks with real MIDI cables and you will be set for the rest of you life. Those round jacks are "universally comparable" with every other MIDI her you will buy
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    #13
    Roland PC-300

    Thanks for you reply Chris!
    Now your solution, (the round midi jack) in the keyboard has to find another end. Is there any adapter to plug it in my iMac. Excuse me my ignorance but against it, somebody has to do it in search of light.
    Thanks again!
     
  14. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,012
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #14
    And MIDI to USB adaptor that is 100% "class compliant". The words "class compliant" means it follows industry standards and can use the drivers built-in the OS.

    Many audio interfaces have MIDI ports too. and you can buy stand alone MIDI adaptors too.

    http://www.rolandus.com/products/details/732

    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Uno.html

    The best why to buy one is to call these guys, yess call on the phone and talk to one of the sales reps about what you need. cable lenghts and how many instruments you want to connect
    http://www.sweetwater.com/shop/computer-audio/midi_interfaces/
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    #15
    Roland PC-300

    Thanks ChrisA!
    I tried the first 2 options. If you have time and download it and open the "drivers", and take a look to the "read me" file, you will understand my disappoint and confusion about what does Roland wants; $39.00 for a set of cables with a very uneasy steps for make your keyboard work. I will go for your last option. I think it's more professional
    and will make me free to further option: to buy another keyboard, and by the way, I'm sure it will not be anymore, a Roland brand.

    Thanks a lot for your support!!

    ----------
     

Share This Page