Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum on Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by imac5, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Has anyone run Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 on their Macbook Air? I've got the 2012 13" 1.8 GHz w/ 8 GB RAM and wonder whether it will run smoothly. Thanks for anyone's input.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    You'll need the Universal Binary to run it.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    Dubai
    #3
    What is that?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #4
    From 1994-2006, Apple used an architecture called PowerPC in their computers. This is why you see members with titles like "Macrumors 601" or "Macrumors G5". Those are the names of PowerPC processors. In around 2006, Apple started using Intel processors in its products. However, there would be compatibility issues. Some applications might not work on the newer Intel processors. Because of this, Apple developed something called Rossetta. It allowed Intel Macs to run PowerPC applications by emulating a PowerPC G4. However, Apple dropped support for PowerPC and Rossetta with the release of OS X Lion (10.7). The only applications that run on 10.7 and above are applications that are in Universal Binary or are Intel only. Universal Binary means that the program is universal- runs on both PowerPC and Intel. Intel only is pretty much self explanatory.

    Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 will not run on 10.7 without the Universal Binary patch, because 10.7 and up are missing Rossetta.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Thanks for the replies re: universal binary. The app is available for download through the App Store now, so that's a moot point.

    What I was actually trying to ask was how well the game runs at full graphics on a 2012 Macbook Air w/ 1.8 GHz and 8 GB ram.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    #6
    Maxes out CPU

    I have 2012 macbook air, 13", core i7, 8 GB ram.

    Just installed it from app store today. It maxes out the CPU and fans run constantly (at 95-100* celsius). Not too thrilled about that.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7

    Installed it a couple of days ago from the app store. Same thing here, fan runs constantly. Used to love this game and still do.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #8
    Would RCT 3 work on 2013 MBA i5 with 8gb ram?

    Hi Guys,

    Do you think RCT would work with the above machine? The one from the Mac APP store? I am not computer savy, so I am not sure. According to game agent, the one questionable part is my 1.3 ghz processor.

    Thanks!

    Purdue
     
  9. macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #9
    You'll be fine. Processor speed doesn't mean much these days in regards to system requirements. A 1.3 GHz i5 processor is much different from a 1.3 GHz Pentium. It's about the GPU these days.

    FWIW, RCT3 runs at max settings on my MBA 2013.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #10
    Thanks. From what I have seen, it seems that on the MBA, RCT may cause the fan to run a lot. Is that bad? I just got this computer (mainly for work, I am not a gamer) and need it to last 3-4 years. Do you think running this game would cause the lifespan of the computer to shorten?

    I used to play RCT as a kid (and would love to now:) )...but if that would hurt my computer (having the fan run continuously, not having enough processor speed) I don't want to let that infringe on my main needs/use for the computer.

    Thanks!

    PS-This is my first mac, so far, so good!
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    I use it on my mid 2011 air (4gm ram) and it runs fine. Enjoy the game :)
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #12
    Excellent! So I should be good on my 2013 i5 8gm ram MBA, thanks!
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    I hope you enjoy it. Its a bit different then some of the older versions but you will quickly get used to it.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14
    Hey guys,

    I know in the Steam version of this game, reflective water does not work. What about the Mac App Store version? I have an iMac with 680MX if it matters.
     

Share This Page