Rookie question (maximizing windows)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mthaker, Sep 12, 2006.

1. mthaker macrumors newbie

Hey all, this is a really rookie question (because I am a rookie to Mac) but is there a quick way to maximize a window to make it fit the screen? In Windows, you just double-click the top pane of the window and it maximizes. I am wondering how to do this on a Mac. Clicking the + button at the top left corner of windows doesn't really fit it to the screen...

thanks!!

2. hayduke macrumors 65816

hayduke

Welcome to the world of Macs. They're great, but they aren't perfect. Unfortunately the feature you want isn't really available. The green(+) button behaves differently for different apps, but is the closest to a true "maximize" or "fill window" button. You might want to learn a bit about AppleScript. You can write (or download) Applescripts that will handle this capability for at least some applications. HTH.

3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

In before "There is no Maximize in OS X"...

Anyways, the + button is "Zoom". Most applications try to resize themselves to fit their content. I few programs to go fullscreen when you hit it. Why do you need to "Maximize" anyways? I find myself trying to KEEP Windows from doing it when I have to a Windows machine. It's annoying since you get so much unused space.

4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

Short answer: You don't...

Long answer: You don't...

Seriously, working in full screen mode is just not efficient (and the applications which thinks you need full screen mode will expand the window to full screen when you press the third little button (green with a +) on top of every window, others will just expand to the point needed).

If you have to have a full screen mode in, lets say Safari, then there is a workaround: Make a bookmark in your bookmarks bar, call it (F) or what ever, and use this link: