Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

student_trap

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
'Ol Smokey, UK
Hi all,

I have no experience programming, but am pretty quick at picking stuff up when I need to, and have been wanting to give making apps a go for a couple of years now.

I have decided to bite the bullet, buy a new mac and start learning to make apps (and hopefully make a couple!), but am totally clueless as to what specs are needed for this sort of work, I don't even know which programes I'd need!

So I'm looking at the macbook airs, and trying to decide if 4gb vs 8gb ram is required, and 128 vs 256 SSD is required, can anyone help?

Also, could anyone link me to somewhere that explains the process, or perhaps explains themselves how to go about making apps as a rookie!!

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help!:)

Dranix

macrumors 65816
Feb 26, 2011
left the forum
I would say each Mac would be good enough fro Xcode. You should have at least 8GB. A big screen helps imo, but many work fine even on the airs.

If you want a mobile solution any mbp or mbair would be fine with 8GB, but I would recommend getting a 22-24" screen for home usage and hook it to the macbook.

The possible big resolution on the retina macbooks makes them likes for devwork, but they are not cheap. But what am I to talk? /* strokes his DarthMac ^^ */

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Nov 26, 2007
In the interest of avoiding buyer's remorse, I would suggest putting off buying a Mac until after WWDC. Apple usually updates a few models during that... Apple might put off updates until the Fall, though.

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State