Root Access with iDOS

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by tgibeau, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #1
    Hey All,

    I figured I would post a forum thread just for this :D

    I was putting in some work into the command lines because I am familier to Dos Box. I found I could mount the root directory of my iPad .

    I am working on uploading screenshots now, but in the mean time I will give you the commands.

    Under the C:\ type "z:"
    Than
    Under Z:\ type "mount d: /"

    It will give you an error stating to mount to sub directory next time, but it will still work.

    Then type "d:"
    And use the DIR command to display the directory!


    Here is also a video tutorial:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjMGB9q-nQg&hd=1
    (the HD might still be processing :D)

    I have attached some images as well

    Enjoy!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68030

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #2
    very nice! The DOS commandline is my 2nd language. I'm glad that I bought iDOS while it was available... this is going to be a lot of fun.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #3
    Do you think its somehow possible to transfer a .app via itunes, then using this method somehow transfer it over to the ios root app section?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #4
    I was able to download this in time.
    How do i go about getting Win95 installed?

    I would really appreciate the help!!
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #5
    It not in the app store anymore.....
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #6
    Yep, sadly I missed it as well ... was really looking forward to getting some of my old DOS RPG games running again, too ...
     
  7. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Damn. Why has it been removed?
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #8
    I'd say the results of the very first post in this topic is reason enough, Apple wouldn't want users being able to see their device's file system.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #9
    It was reported on another site that the author of iDOS has removed the two included games and restricted access to root and is resubmitting it.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #10
    Cool! I hope it is open enough to be able to run some old DOS games I have ... sure running Ultima IV in DOSBox works well ... but I want it on my iPad!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    yayitsezekiel

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #11
    is the windows 3.1 version only for ipad? or does it work on the iphone one too?
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #12
    The current version (that was pulled from the app store) is open enough to run virtually everything that was thrown at it. I was able to run Geoworks/NewDealOffice.... others ran Windows 3.1. One guy even has Win95 running.
     

Share This Page