Root User in OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by sparkleytone, May 2, 2002.

1. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

sparkleytone

this is really a plead for people here to listen to some really sound advice.

If you are not a UNIX guru, please please PLEASE do NOT login as root user on a regular basis. In fact there is really no reason to EVER log in to the GUI of OS-X as the root user. any functions necessitating the use of root should really be done via the Terminal.app. This is not a personal preference or attack, this is the truth. I think alot of people coming either from Windows or OS9 with little or no UNIX experience are underestimating the power of the root account. Not only can you do just about anything you want, but if you are hacked you are quadruple screwed. Its not even funny what can happen if you are hacked as root. please please please heed my warnings.

chmod -R 555 | whoops

2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

Sound advice, I am no UNIX expert but I am well aware of the damage you can do when logged in as "root".
    Stay out of the root account ;)

3. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

menoinjun

Thanks for the public service announcement, but how many people actually log in as the root? I had to once just to change my swap partition, but other than that I'm logged in a my username.

Does anyone actually log in a root?

-pete

4. Solidus macrumors newbie

The really small capital of Sweden - Stockholm
    Have to

I useit pretty often to edit files whithin the system.
    I even use the little Skeletton key trick.

And as a matter of fact I ended up calling that expert support ^_^"
    (They, though, told me the only way to restore the system was to reformat the HD, so I agree with the other guys, unless you know what you're doing, be really carefull with the root account)

5. newmanium macrumors member