Rosetta Emulation Speed

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Ktulu, Feb 3, 2006.

  1. Ktulu macrumors regular

    Ktulu

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Brownstown, MI
    #1
    I am going to be upgrading to a new iMac Intel some time this year. However I will have to use all of my PPC software till i can afford to replace it with UB versions. Titles include Photoshop 7, Illustrator 10, Flash MX 2004 Professional...you get the idea.

    My question is what kind of speed increase/decrease will I see going from a G3 B/W 450Mhz running software natively to an iMac Core Duo 2Ghz running software under Rosetta.

    I'm thinking it will be a speed increase for me, but I would like to know what the general concensis is on the whole Rosetta thing and speed.

    Thank you in advance for your help.:)
     
  2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    Rosetta tends to run large programs slowly (e.g. photoshop). However, from the computer you mentioned, I'm sure you will see a speed increase - at the very worst, it would be the same.
     
  3. Ktulu thread starter macrumors regular

    Ktulu

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Brownstown, MI
    #3
    That's what I figured, but wasn't sure. Everyone says that it is about the equivilant of a mid-range G4. With a G3 right now I was hoping it would be a speed increase, even with emulation.

    Thank you very much for your help.:D
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    The Intel will be way way way faster. No contest.
     
  5. thequicksilver macrumors 6502a

    thequicksilver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Birmingham
    #5
    I've heard it's about the same as a 1-1.5 GHz G4. However apps in Rosetta have double the memory footprint of one run natively on a Power PC processor, so say for example Photoshop in a normal session on your Power PC Mac took up 512MB of memory, it'd take up around 1 Gigabyte on your Intel Mac.

    Stock up on memory if you're using professional grade apps, and you're going to have a machine that's double to triple the speed of your G3 - in emulation mode. In Intel native apps, it's going to be so much faster you probably won't be able to even estimate how much faster it is. :)
     
  6. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
  7. Ktulu thread starter macrumors regular

    Ktulu

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Brownstown, MI
    #7
    The Intel iMac would maxed out. RAM, HD, Video, etc.
    So I'm won't worry about emulation speeds compaird to what I am used to.

    You guys have been very helpful. My worries have been put to rest about any sort of performance issues with the switch.

    Thanx again.
     
  8. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #8
    I find my Photoshop to be OK, its not blazing but it is faster than my old emac 1ghz, It isnt as snappy as my 2.1 5 imac was but actions seem to complete just as fast.

    I WILL be buying cs3 as soon as it comes out though
     
  9. arcsbite Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #9
    I went from using an iMac G5 (pre isight and pre BT/airport not sure what "Rev" that is)
    it was a 17" 1.8Ghz with 1.5GB RAM

    I am now using an intel iMac 17" 1.83Ghz with 1.5GB RAM
    and I don't notice much of a difference.

    I have been working on some marketing posters for Uni, which are A3 at 300dpi and I have to say the intel iMac really holds it's own.
    I'm gutted that CS3 is months and months away, but after swallowing my fears and just getting the intel mac, I'm less worried, this thing still flies even under Rosetta
     
  10. shrimpdesign macrumors 6502a

    shrimpdesign

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #10
    Rosetta loves RAM, get at least 1.5 for it, and you'll notice a big speed increase.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    And when comparing against a 450 MHz G3... :)
     

Share This Page