rosetta question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wojofm1, Jun 3, 2006.

  1. wojofm1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #1
    i dont have an intel mac yet, but i am thinking of getting a macbook soon and i was wondering about rosetta...

    firstly, how dramatically does it slow down the computer?

    also, will there be a point in time when it doesnt need to run anymore? (perhaps when everything is native)

    finally, should i buy now, or wait a few more months? (possibly for a revision)
     
  2. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #2
    I don't own an Intel Mac yet either, and I'm also purchasing a MacBook soon.

    From what I have read:

    1. Rosetta does not run all the time, it only becomes active when a PPC application opens (Like the days of when you used to open a Classic App. and Classic would run, in the background, you wouldn't actually see anything)
    2. There will be a time when Rosetta doesn't need to be used - it will be when all application either become Universal, or for Intel only.
    3. Photoshop runs at the speed of a G4 on an Intel Mac - however, they are using 50MB files in the speed tests, I only use 2/3/4MB files, so I'm not sure if there will be THAT much of a dramatic difference for me
    4. All the Apple apps are now Universal, and do not need Rosetta, from what I understand.

    Microsoft Office, Adobe and Macromedia are making their next major-releases (next year) all Universal. That means they will not need Rosetta any longer.

    Any application that normally needs a lot of proc. and RAM power, will probably need double to run half-stable on an Intel Mac.

    (Please, someone, correct me if I am wrong :) )
     
  3. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  4. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #4
    Isn't your computer collection ALL Intel? Or do you just not run any PPC apps? :confused:
     
  5. nsknike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    #5
    I got a macbook yesterday 2.0 with 2Gb and Microsoft word runs faster than on the comp that I used to have, specs are in sig as I haven't changed that yet.
     
  6. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #6
    You just never have any knowledge of it running nor do you know it is running
     
  7. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #7
    Ah right. Do you use Photoshop? I only edit photos of 2/3/4MB in size - do you think with 1GB of RAM in a 1.83Ghz MacBook I would find much lag?

    I'm getting it to use in School for my A-Level..
     

Share This Page