rotating displays in 10.4.9?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by slicedbread, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #1
    Is there the new capability of rotating displays in 10.4.9? I swear it wasnt there before...??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Schnebar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Looks new to me

    I might rotate my second monitor just for fun.
     
  3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #3
    I've had it for quite some time...AFAIK, it's presence or absence depended on whether your monitor and graphics card supported it.
     
  4. nazmac21 macrumors 6502a

    nazmac21

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Digital World
    #4
    That is awsome. People are going to more amazed when they see that on my Mac (in public).
     
  5. Schnebar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #5
    nice for viewing forums

    It looks kind of weird though because it is wide screen

    Is this new too

    [​IMG]

    The choice to have 1280*960

    and

    1344*1008

    Maybe it just does that when it is rotated?

    My monitor is just 1050*1680
     
  6. slicedbread thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #6
    OMG you just made me realise there is 1360x768!!!! The native resolution of my HDTV!! YESS!!!! No more overscanned 1280x768!
     
  7. Schnebar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #7
    It is weird that when the monitor is rotated it lets you get higher resolution but when it is regular it only lets me go to 1680x1050
     
  8. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
  9. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #9
    It's not new, it's been there forever if you have the right equipment. I've used it for ages with my Dell 2007wfp on my iMac to view long code files.
     
  10. SuperCompu2 macrumors 6502a

    SuperCompu2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Location:
    MA
    #10
    I apparently just got it as well, on my PowerMac G4.

    I love pointless little tid-bits :D
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    My iMac G5 has been doing 1360x768 to my tv, albeit via having added that resolution with SwitchResX.

    But maybe improved native res support for newer widescreens in 10.4.9? That's good.
     
  12. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #12
    Does anyone know what you have to have? I remember doing this on my Powerbook(Radeon 9700) a while ago but it isn't there. I am assuming this is because they only let you change it on an external display? Ruins some fun.
     
  13. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    Only if you bring a second display with you. :)

    It's not for the laptop displays themselves (or iMac built-ins).

    This has been around in OS X (and Windows) for quite a long, long time.
     
  14. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #14
    Rotation Support is OLD And Only With ATI Graphics NOT nVidea

    No it is NOT new. It's always been there with ATI Graphics cards. NOTE: It still isn't there with nVidea cards.
     

Share This Page